Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-07-2008, 08:05 PM   #1
adevejian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hotkeys!

Just performed a clean install of windows and have my hotkeys from Maya saved into a text file… but not sure how to load them into the hotkey editor. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
adevejian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 12:15 PM   #2
adevejian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there no way to import hotkeys into Maya?

I tried pasting the .txt file Maya created into the userHotkeys.mel file but it didn't work.
adevejian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 02:46 PM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

to be honest, i've never actually had this problem

when i did a clean install i had a copy of My Documents and the Application Data folders. The application data folder is a hidden folder, but either way, my hotkeys were preserved

as for copying your hotkeys from the txt file, i'm not entirely sure how you would do that... i would have thought the option would be in the same dialog where you saved the hotkey mapping...
but if it was you wouldn't be asking

looks to me like no one actually knows the answer to the question...

it seems strange that you could save the hotkey mapping but not load it

sorry i'm not help to you, dude
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 03:09 PM   #4
adevejian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply. Maybe I should copy the entire My Documents/maya folder next time like you mentioned. There must be a way to import, otherwise it seems useless to even have a 'Save to File...' option. Maybe it's just for printing...?
adevejian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 03:52 PM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

perhaps, but it is strange for there to not be a load option when there is a save option
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 10:17 PM   #6
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

The Maya hotkeys are in your My Documents/maya/XXversion/prefs/. its the userHotkeys.mel file, quite frankly I don't know why theres that one save option in the hotkey editor either :s
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.