Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-08-2008, 08:52 PM   #1
Remmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default PSD networks

Hi all

I have a character and i make the cloths of polysurface but now i want to make a psd network so i can make the texture. But psd doesnt work on polysurface how does i convert it to nurbs or polygon?
Or does any body know a nother way how i can fix this?
Remmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 05:53 AM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

polysurface?

sorry i haven't used ncloth before but if i read your question right i might be able to offer an answer

did you assign a psd to the colour of the material? the same way you would do a texture mapping with the File option? (i'll assume you did)

did you hit 6 on the keyboard to turn on hardware rendering?

tried rendering the scene?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 06:01 PM   #3
Remmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You get a polysurface when you use the create polygon tool. The problem start when i clik on create a psd networks. I get then an error saying that it only works on nurbs and polygonal objects. Yep the material is shaded (with blinn) and hardware rendering is turn on.

However i tink if found a work around it, its by combining a polygonal object (like a plane) to my polysurface object and then seperate it. When i did it, it seems to be oke to use the psd network than. I don't know if that the best way so i'm still open for suggestions.

Ps. thanks for the quick reply
Remmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2014, 09:51 PM   #4
madaboutsne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 21
Thanks: 11
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Hi all,
I created nurbs sphere and assigned lambert to it. In Create PSD Network Options, I've chosen three attributes and they appear in selected attributes section. But when I press create button following message appears: // Error: Invalid call to "filetest". Check number and types of arguments expected by the procedure. I restored default settings, but it was in vain. So, I would appreciate some help on this
madaboutsne is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.