Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-08-2008, 03:40 AM   #1
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default It's Krusty the Clown!

Alright this is my first okay organic character.
He needs alot more work ,I have 3 hours on him .
I need to smooth him out and upload a better pic since the forum limits the quality(I'm getting problems).
I'd upload more pics but my windows computer has a malicious program(I have the internet disabled) I'm trying to deal with.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp crusty 3.bmp (81.1 KB, 58 views)

Last edited by jm82792 : 08-08-2008 at 04:45 AM.
jm82792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 07:13 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

80kb for a tiny grayscale image lol don't use the .bmp format, large file sizes for no good reason, especially for internet purposes >< plus I can't see much to crit really.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 07:49 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

agreed with GecT

post up a 400x400 render from maya as a jpeg.

they get save as lowest quality anyway so chances of you going over the size limit from a jpeg rendered and saved straight out from Maya wont give you issues

you could even post a 1024x1024 jpg of it

but dont actually do that because it doesnt look like there is much there to take up room
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 09:58 AM   #4
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Use this:
http://my.imageshack.us

That way you have a 1.5 MB limit...

Render a 800X600 PNG or TIFF from Maya. That always enough for me (so far...).

Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 07:18 PM   #5
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

He needs a large amount of work in almost every area
So here it is for the at the moment :



His arms need to be fatter and sculpted better,same with the hands.
The shoes need mroe defined "sharpness" and the face needs a ton of work.

Last edited by jm82792 : 09-08-2008 at 07:22 PM.
jm82792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 07:48 PM   #6
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

1. You could've built both arms at the same time if you had extruded the faces together, because now one arm is probably going to end up looking much different than the other.

2. When you're posting wires you may want to use the wireframe on shaded mode (Shading>Wireframe on Shaded) instead of the straight wireframe view as its not messy.

3. I would've modeled the hair separately, I just think shading that will turn out to be a pain in the butt later on.

Good Luck and Have Fun.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 08:21 PM   #7
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay I have a model of him without hair or arms
I was planning on cutting and mirroring him but you(I do) do want the porportions. Alright I'll work on it and post back.
I'll probly finish my ktichen before I finish Krusty since I'm slightly burned out on organic modeling

Last edited by jm82792 : 09-08-2008 at 08:23 PM.
jm82792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 04:02 AM   #8
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

for a sec, i though he had some disease growing on the left side of his face, but realised it was his hair, LOL! :p

cant wait to see how this turns up ...
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 06:38 AM   #9
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi jm82792, so glad to see you and your posts. Hope more!

keep up!

Lealar DB
lealar is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.