Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-08-2008, 01:18 AM   #1
mdl
Registered User
 
mdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default NURBS to Polygon Problem! help!

Hi Everyone

Still nubin' around with maya, and trying out all the free tutorials and getting better and better.. I guess...

I'm doing the Cartoon Dog by Kurt Boulitier and I'm at the stage where every piece is converted into polygons etc, you know the drill.

I running maya 2008, which ofc isn't the version Kurt is using in that tutorial, so I'm having a hard time finding the various tools etc. When the dogs head and neck is to be merged Kurt uses the Boolean operation which I found in -> Polygons -> Mesh -> Boolean (think it's right?)

but...

When I use the Union tool both the head and the neck disappears. Pretty stuck at this point! Help me pls a high five to the one who can enlighten me

- mdl
mdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2008, 01:56 AM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I had the same problem… check out this thread:
http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...s&pagenumber=1
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2008, 02:07 AM   #3
mdl
Registered User
 
mdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Erm.. I must admit I'm really new at this.

How does cleanup work?

still not working.
mdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2008, 02:11 AM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Haha… you have to tinker around with the settings to get it right, and at a point where it doesn't screw up your geo. Check out the help files (F1).
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2008, 02:12 AM   #5
mdl
Registered User
 
mdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hehe yeah seems to be working now.. funny with this maya thing.. I just had to move the pieces a bit then it worked! thanks !!

I was going mental
mdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2008, 04:32 AM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

they probably weren't intersecting properly

btw, did you name youself after the file extension mdl in Source mods?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.