Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-08-2008, 11:44 PM   #1
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default where does it say games should be low poly?

i made the mistake of not keeping track of where i find information

if anyone knows a place where it says that models in games should be low poly can you let me know?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2008, 11:54 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If you get a game modeling book it probably says it in there, its pretty simple why they are though
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2008, 11:57 PM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

yeah, a lot of things i can explain what are and things are so, but i don't have any sources to say where i got the knowledge :headbang:
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 03:06 AM   #4
Ajmooch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's one of those things that all humans inherently know.

Like the color of your intestines. You're born knowing that.

Naw, I'm kidding, we're all Tabula Rasa from the start.


I suppose you may have just heard it somewhere? All I know is that you can't have a 50k polycount on some model if you plan to run a game without crashing it every 2.5 seconds.
__________________
~I have no idea what I'm doing~
Ajmooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 04:27 AM   #5
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

The reason a game model can't be 50k polys (yet) is because in a game everything has to be rendered in real time.
You would have to have some uber sweet Game engine to do it... (which we will have some time soon-ish)
Could you imagine if a modern day game engine had to render 50k poly meshes... Not to mention if that were for only one character... then image the hurt the engine would be feeling trying to render 4 or 5 characters to the screen....

^^^^ ______flat line______
Not to mention the environment..

So, It's all because the game engine has to render all the scene objects to the screen as close to 'exactly as it happens' that in can.

At least this is what I know... There could be other dark sinister reasons...
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 06:21 AM   #6
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Meh.

I bet today's technology can do this...

What you'll need is... I dunno... 16 of those new "two GPUs on a card" Radeons (I can never remember the model names - too many, too fast) in a box.

And some arcane graphics libary to replace DirectX so you can use it on a more parallel system- I hear SGI has some left over from the good old days of Onyx 3000 and there you go, you've got yourself a box that can handle 50,000+ poly characters.

And don't forget the custom motherboard with multiple PCIe links, you don't want 16 graphics cards, 32 GPUs sharing a puny x16 link... And having eight or more CPUs to feed the hungry GPUs with data would be a good idea too... and lots of RAM, like 512 GB - remember its only 20 or so sticks of RAM with MetaRAM!

Of course, people will then complain that its noisy, uses too much power, is to big (becuase everyone knows that the Macbook Air is the future, right?), too expensive and so on...

What have I been drinking? ?
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 08:19 AM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

If you want your game to make money... you don't cater to the super-bleeding-edge pc's.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 10:49 PM   #8
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The way I see it is that if people are going to spend $5000+ on cooling their box so it can be overclocked to squeeze an extra five frames from a game, they are more than willing pay ten times that for something that can render realistic scenes (price/perf)...

I mean, thats why Ferrari is in business right? :p
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 10:52 PM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by The Architect
The way I see it is that if people are going to spend $5000+ on cooling their box so it can be overclocked to squeeze an extra five frames from a game, they are more than willing pay ten times that for something that can render realistic scenes (price/perf)...

I mean, thats why Ferrari is in business right? :p
Ferrari stays in business as they are timeless, computer's aint when there out of date they get chucked in the bin and a new ones bought, I doubt theres many people who buy a Ferrari and when a new model comes out scrap it and get the new one.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 11:19 PM   #10
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've personally seen an Apple II go for $1,500. Computers are timeless, depending on the logo stuck on the front. Fruity ones are currently worth lots. :p
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 12:17 AM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Thats pretty sad, its probably Steve Jobs who bought it, for historical reasons yes, but for actual useage?? Please, at least you can get a 1960's classic car, give it a blast and still have a grin on your face and get form A to B in the process. Would you fire up a Commodore 16 to now write a report and print it in dot matrix???

Find me that person, ive got an acient laptop in the attic that's going to go to the tip when I get round to cleaning up, maybe they would have completly lost their senses and will pay £1000 for it?

Anywho back to what Mike said and your response, not everyone on the road drives a Ferrari, or a veyron, hence thers no point in making a game like that.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 12:26 AM   #12
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, no idea who it was, it was at an auction at one of those computer fairs. Anyways, you're right, there isn't any point in making such a game, but its cool and I like to dream about huge giant computers simulating a world that is hard to distinguish from the real one...
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 03:14 AM   #13
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Originally posted by The Architect
Anyways, you're right, there isn't any point in making such a game, but its cool and I like to dream about huge giant computers simulating a world that is hard to distinguish from the real one...

i think you just spoke on behalf of every gamer in the world :p that's be awseome
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 03:24 AM   #14
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

we don't want large computers we want a Holodeck..end of
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 03:31 AM   #15
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by jsprogg
we don't want large computers we want a Holodeck..end of
Correction: a large holodeck... not much point having a 2 by 2 right? :p
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.