Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-01-2003, 11:29 AM   #1
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Real Time Redraws - Tortoise Speeds

O.K. I have an Athlon 1.2 ghz box with a GeForce4 Ti200 with 128mb RAM in it. I have modelled the creature from the Maya 4 Fundamentals book and have put a basic rig on it. I am now in the process of doing a walk cycle for it.

Thing is it is not that complicated a model but it is bloody slow watching it in real time. I am not impressed I would have thought that it would move faster with this spec machine - its like watching a tortoise. Does anyone out there know of a way to speed things up!

I have attached a pick below to show the geometry of the model and how far I have got. I am used to Animation Master and I find that models that are more complicated than this move faster in this program am I not pushing a certain button. I have the latest drivers installed.
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 11:38 AM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

It's SubD, isn't it? How did you rig it?

I have very little experience on this but I've heard/read that one should rig the polyproxy and animate it instead of doing it directly in standard mode...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 12:19 PM   #3
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi KBrown

No, it started out in 'Maya 4 Fundamentals' attempt at simulating SubDs in Maya Complete, but I got fed up with them and went into polys.

I rigged the character using the Learning Maya 'Character Rigging and Animation' Book, which suggested using a low res version, even A:M lets you do this. But as I said, it's not that high res a model so it should work reasonably...
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 12:26 PM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

That's odd then. Is it slow in wireframe mode too?
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 12:37 PM   #5
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Weird... It seems to be about the same speed... I think I will have to investigate further. I know that AW say that Nvidia cards don't support hardware overlays or sumink lioke dat, but I don't know what this is anyway or that it is related...
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 02:33 PM   #6
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Sounds like a ram issue, I have amd athlon 1.3, 768 ram g-force mxm 64 meg card, and the only time its slow is I have a heavy sub-d character that im trying to animate.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 04:03 PM   #7
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sounds about right. I only have 512mb RAM-a-lam-a-ding-dong in my machine guess I should upgrade it to 1gig...
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 05:51 PM   #8
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Fixed it! I piddled around with the Animation Preferences and changed the playback speed. Voila! It sped up... Hope that helps others who have had the same problem.
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2003, 02:40 AM   #9
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Hey, I have a question that is like this... I rendered a movie and want it to play in full screen. Now I do have a fast computer and even with this, its still plays slow. If i want it to go full screen what is the best way?
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.