Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-09-2008, 05:12 AM   #1
ben hobden
ben hobden's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default duplicate edges/script editor

I am having trouble converting a poly mesh to sub division. I think the problem may be that one of the legs of my model has a funny attachment to the body of the character. When the booleans operation didnt work, i cut out faces using the split poly tool, and combined the leg with the body, merging the verts as I went around. I had border edges on thick display, and as i went the se edges thineed out as the two objects became one, but there is one last thick border edge I cant get rid of. The poly to sub d operation failed and told me to open the script editor, which has told me the following:

polyToSubdiv1 (Poly To Subdiv Node): The conversion to a subdivision surface failed.
// One or more duplicated edges were present.
// Repair the duplicate edges by selecting the polygon
// and issuing the following command, then try again:
select .e[2662] ;string $v[] = `polyListComponentConversion -fe -tv`;select $v;polySplitVertex;polyMergeVertex -d 0.0 -tx 1; //

Do i issue this somehow in the script editor? What do I have to have selected in the workspace/on the model if so. Otherwise can anyone see from this what I can do?
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 06:11 AM   #2
bendingiscool's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

You need to grab the duplicated face where the issue is, copy the text it gives you in the error and run it either in the script editor or in the command line at the bottom of screen.

You could just rebuild that small area if that is what's giving you the trouble, I don't see how you couldn't rebuild that part, maybe a piccy of the offending region would be useful.

bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 09:13 PM   #3
Registered User
BennyK's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

If you're still having problems with this you may want to try this:

It's a Poly to Subdivs conversion script I found useful...
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.