Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-09-2008, 11:41 PM   #16
scrappy
Registered User
 
scrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well tht was helpful!
__________________
polygon pusher
scrappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 11:46 PM   #17
scrappy
Registered User
 
scrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is there anyone that can help this matter. anymore comments are useful,tips and tricks.

HELP PLZ!!!!
__________________
polygon pusher
scrappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 01:56 AM   #18
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://www.interstation3d.com/maya/t...g/indoor01.htm
That helped me with my illumination problems
You need to be less pushy :headbang:
He was giving you advice that you could have utilized...

Last edited by jm82792 : 10-09-2008 at 01:59 AM.
jm82792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 02:17 AM   #19
scrappy
Registered User
 
scrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i wasnt being pushy, sorry if you thought i was. thnks for the advice.
__________________
polygon pusher
scrappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 01:49 PM   #20
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No problem
I'm actually having problems I can't fix now that I'm using a spot light and global illumination
jm82792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 07:06 PM   #21
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

When that happens and you're ripping your hair out, load the default render settings, this time don't go changing stuff all willy nilly, only what you know you need. Need GI? check on GI and nothing else. GI not showing? Check the photon intensity on your light(s) and make sure they're strong enough to actually travel from the light, make it to the objects and atleast do a couple bounces, so that means TEST RENDERS AND TWEAKS YAY!:p
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 02:12 AM   #22
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When it takes 10-15 minutes per render of Global Illumination and Final Gather on draft or maybe preview it gets really old but your totally right reset everything then experiment more and
more :attn:
Never knew the intensity meant that it traveled longer,I should remember that and apply that to a few things
jm82792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 05:52 AM   #23
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Yeah well, you have to be careful with the photon intensity, as too high a number will burn out the objects near the light source so you probably might want to back it down a bit and bump up the GI scale in the render settings then tweak until you find a nice balance between the two. Hopefully you're not rendering at a large resolution, personally I think 320x240 is fine for testing general illumination.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 12:17 AM   #24
scrappy
Registered User
 
scrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thats a good point, i've been rendering in 640/480 lol. i have tried the model with a default sun and sky, it looks ok but to be honest the one i posted on here looks much better.

thanks for that tutorial link by the way. iam reading it as i type

This was a tutorial from digital tutors, its great for beginners to learn modelling techniques and texture techniques, the downfall is it dosent hit on lighting and render techniques, but i would recommend this to anyone.
__________________
polygon pusher
scrappy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.