Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-09-2008, 02:36 AM   #1
Geldslaw
Registered User
 
Geldslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: london
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Setting scale of measurement

I'm trying to follow tutorials, and they keep saying that they have set their scale to feet, or inches. Can for the love of Jesus, someone tell me where and how to set this thing. I have search the helpfile and the net and I can't find out how to do it.

Also can someone tell me how to mirror geometry so that its flipped the other way?

many thanks
__________________
it takes a seed of an idea to create a field of dreams and a lot of sweat.
Geldslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 03:47 AM   #2
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

Also can someone tell me how to mirror geometry so that its flipped the other way?

many thanks

just select your geometry go to edit>duplicate special in the translate option type -1 depending on the direction you want it to duplicate (XYZ)
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 03:54 AM   #3
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

or

mesh>mirror geometry

or

ctrl+d and then type -1 in the scale field.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 04:17 AM   #4
Geldslaw
Registered User
 
Geldslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: london
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

where can I set up the measurements for inches and feet
__________________
it takes a seed of an idea to create a field of dreams and a lot of sweat.
Geldslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 05:48 AM   #5
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

beats me... preferences?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 06:01 AM   #6
Geldslaw
Registered User
 
Geldslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: london
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If I want to model something to scale, there must be a way of setting the units of scale to be either metric, or imperial?
__________________
it takes a seed of an idea to create a field of dreams and a lot of sweat.
Geldslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 07:20 AM   #7
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

It's in preferences but I recommend leaving it at default as Maya likes to work with smaller objects and isn't really geared towards working to scale. When starting a project just determine your own system using the grid. For example, say you wanted to create a human who's 5' tall...you could visually use each grid division to equal 1ft. Or say you were creating a mammoth battle cruiser, you could use each division to equal 25m or whatever. You don't have to set it anywhere. As long as you establish for your project how you're visualizing the grid elements and keep it consistent when building other scene elements, you should be good. You can always scale everything as need be later if you need to but I would stick with this method as it will prevent your machine from getting bogged down...trust me. I once built a wine dispenser in maya to scale and every little tweak caused massive slow down.

Maybe this will explain it better:

https://www.zaon.org/showthread.php?t=2054
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 09:49 AM   #8
Geldslaw
Registered User
 
Geldslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: london
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks that's just what I needed to know and to hear, it makes a lot of sense. I'd rather listen to the voice of experience than to learn the hardway

many thanks
__________________
it takes a seed of an idea to create a field of dreams and a lot of sweat.
Geldslaw is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.