Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-09-2008, 10:02 PM   #1
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default med lab wip

here to confuse everyones eyes again with my PLE watermarks!

Ive been working through the med lab scene. The modelling went ok. but its more for the texturing/lighting/rendering that I want to learn. I spent the day yesterday agonisingly sorting out uvs, and I have a question.

When you apply a texture to check the uv layout, i.e, the checkerboard pattern, as seems to be popular and that I used for this, when I see other peoples work, the squares on the checker pattern are always very small and very neat. The squares on mine, lay fine enough, square edges generally running at 90 degrees, but the squares are huge!!. Does this mean that my uv's arent laid out well enough, or is there a way to scale down the texture so that the pattern is more identifiable?
Attached Thumbnails
 
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 10:07 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

are your UV shells in the area between 0 and 1?

i.e the top right square of the UV texture editor?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 12:30 AM   #3
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You can change the tile/repeat in the 2d-texture node.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 01:35 AM   #4
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

hammer horror, - yes they are in there.



how do i find the attributes to change in the 2d node?
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 01:39 AM   #5
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

ummm... have you unwrapped them?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 02:21 AM   #6
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

yeah they are unwrapped. Its just the checker texture comes out very large...
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 02:29 AM   #7
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't have maya in front of me right now.. so...

Excuse me, but you probably don't have a Texture2D since you used the checkerboard texture... I think it has an attribute something like "checker size" (and color aswell). I guess you assigned the checker to the color slot? So go to the material editor, double click the material and then click the little checker to right.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 02:34 AM   #8
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

ok , i changed the coverage in the 2d texture placement attributes in the place2dtexture tab of the attribute editor, which seems to have done the trick. cheers
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 02:39 AM   #9
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

can you post a screenshot of your uv snapshot?

Also, i would use a checker jpg rather than the checker texture in maya.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 03:58 AM   #10
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

uvs
Attached Thumbnails
 
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 04:43 AM   #11
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

it could be that the shells are just pretty small or that hte maya checker is crap...

try this -



i know you have already fixed it, but this would be a good thing to use in future.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 05:24 AM   #12
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

thankyou. I can maybe use it for my next steps. ive got some subd surfaces in my scene. how do you go about arranging a uv map for them?
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 05:29 AM   #13
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

latest shot...
Attached Thumbnails
 
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2008, 06:13 AM   #14
andrew_sorensen
Registered User
 
andrew_sorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: portland, oregon
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

The checkerboard is a good texture to apply to your mesh after you've laid out your uv's to see if there is any distortion going on. To get the small sharp checkers change the repeat u and v to a larger number like 10. (by default I think it set at 4) you'll find that attribute under the "place 2d texture node". Then get to the attributes for the material itself, lambert if thats what your using. Go to the "hardware texturing" attribute and change the texture resoulution to "highest (256 x 256)".

That should do it!

Last edited by andrew_sorensen : 25-09-2008 at 08:51 AM.
andrew_sorensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jay_Outlaws Tales WiP thread Jay Work In Progress 293 22-02-2016 04:00 PM
apache WIP andrew_sorensen Work In Progress 9 23-12-2010 10:22 PM
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 06:22 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.