Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-10-2008, 04:22 PM   #61
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

to make the lighting work if your using directional lighting and shadows, is that the you select your dome, then go to the attributes shape.

go to render stats, and switch off

cast shadows
and
receive shadows

Now you can start setting up your lighting.

Also make one ambient light and connect it only to the dome using the light linking tool.

And switch off any light linking from the directional lights to the dome.

So why is this, well now you have one light controlling the dome and the rest your scene.
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2008, 04:42 PM   #62
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Right, forgot about those... :headbang:
Thanks
Another problem though:
Code:
mental ray: out of memory
mental ray: out of memory
mental ray: out of memory
mental ray: out of memory
mental ray: out of memory
mental ray: out of memory
MEM  0.6  fatal  031008: can't allocate 89611100 bytes.
MEM  0.6  fatal  031008: can't allocate 89611100 bytes.
Any Ideas?
Thanks in advance, Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2008, 04:45 PM   #63
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

you need to edit your bsp tree so less memory is needed to render each section. Small tree takes longer but requires less memory useage. F1
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2008, 04:55 PM   #64
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Right... BSP again...
should I change it through the render settings or through the mental ray globals?
BTW, can 'physical memory' help me in this case?
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2008, 07:28 PM   #65
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Originally posted by BennyK
should I change it through the render settings or through the mental ray globals?
Sorry about the bum arm Benny. And as far as I know they are the essentially the same thing, if you open both windows and tweak a setting in either one it will update the other. On your sky dome you could try using a surface shader and slap your texture in the out color slot, be warned it will contribute to lighting (if and when you turn on FG) unless you uncheck "Final Gather Cast" under your sky dome's Shape tab in the MR section, might as well uncheck "Final Gather Recieve" also.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2008, 08:24 PM   #66
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks Genny :bow:
About where to change it - I figured it out but I just got my internet up and running again so I couldn't edit it.
about the BSP itself - I tried to increase it but got the same error. then increased it some more and it told me it's too high, automatically decreased it and I got the same error...
I'm doing some more experiments now and I'll post some progress soon.
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2008, 08:47 PM   #67
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

:attn: Turning off cast and receive final gather killed the 'out of memory'!
Maybe I can save some more work for my computer this way?

- What do these do?
mental ray:
*visible in transparency
*transmit transparency
*transmit refraction
render stats:
*smooth shading

- Does turning off stuff like 'motion blur' and 'double sided' help although I don't use it (Motion blur is off and I don't see the back side of anything)? I guess it can't hurt anyway...

Thanks in advance,
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2008, 10:58 PM   #68
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Test render, high quality


The rectangle in the middle was re-rendered in 10 minutes with a different color gain for the sky pic.

I need to fix the background before I send my PC on another full size render.

C&C please,
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2008, 01:58 AM   #69
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Improved the background:

It's also tileable now :attn:
I'll start that final now...
C&C please,
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2008, 06:20 AM   #70
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I know my eyes aren't the best but is the texture blurry in certain spots?
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2008, 10:20 AM   #71
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

No, it's not your eyes ...
I guess it's the result of the bump map combined with the ambient light.
You can see how it's a little blurry around the edges of the bricks at the bottom, and further ahead it's blurry just about everywhere.

No luck with the render. I tried and tried to get it to render but got the same out of memory error.
Most annoying thing is that every time I get it I have to restart Maya since the harmless 'out of memory' somehow manages to cause a fatal error :headbang: :headbang: :headbang:

Why does it take more memory then the HDRI?!
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2008, 04:15 PM   #72
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Why are you using an ambient light?
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2008, 04:48 PM   #73
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Instead of the directional I had earlier - to light the BG and the sky dome.

Progress! almost
I managed to run a render!!! It ran for three hours and then started complaining about being out of memory and crashed again :headbang:

Do I have absolutely no chance to render this?! I still can't understand why it worked with the HDRI but won't work with a sky dome...

Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2008, 05:29 PM   #74
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

dont use indirect lighitng techniques. Use spot lights and directional lights. Ditch the hdri even for reflections and just use high incandesent shapes for reflections into your objects.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2008, 05:41 PM   #75
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by LauriePriest
... just use high incandesent shapes for reflections into your objects.

what are these high incandescence shapes?

Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.