Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-10-2008, 11:16 PM   #1
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default Maya 7 Final rig >2008

Hi folks heres a test for someone if they still use Maya 7.
Why cant this Maya 7 rig be opened in Maya 2008 along with it's controls? The rig was created with Final Rig plugin but when you open it in 2008 the Control nodes dont show up!

Be interesting to see how to show these control nodes as they are in the outliner!

Cheers for trying
Attached Files
File Type: rar maya_7_fr_rig.rar (53.4 KB, 21 views)
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 11:37 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

under the options for open click the ignore version check box
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 11:49 PM   #3
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hi there thanks for your reply.
If you open the scene in M7 you will see all the control nodes for the charator but if you open it in 2008 these nodes are not visible (even though visibility is on).

Open the scene in 2008 and locate steve_LhandCtrlShape in the outliner and you will see there are no controls to select!

I tried your suggestion but this didnt work!

The output window shows,
Unrecognized node type 'circleControl'; preserving node information during this session.

But surely these are just wires or curves!

Cheers
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk

Last edited by Stephen : 10-10-2008 at 11:55 PM.
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:11 AM   #4
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

in the command line it says it cant find a required plugin, final rig pro 2 by radiant square. This is definitely the problem, its nothing to do with the version of maya but the plugins you have installed on those versions that where used in the creation of this rig.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:20 AM   #5
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

I thought as much.
I was hopping that I could open these files in new maya versions. We have about 40 characters all rigged with Final Rig which was a brilliant plugin for rigging but it is no longer supported thus keeping our work flow in Maya 7.

Is it possible for someone to re compile a plugin make it compatible with new versions?? Some smart dude out there could do it i'm sure.
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:51 AM   #6
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

dont know, its weird that the rigging software uses custom nodes. i use TSM2 and not had problems like this.

I dont know anything about coding plugins but see what people say.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.