Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-10-2008, 08:09 PM   #1
Armandz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Vertex Points to small

Hello
My problem is that the vertex points are too small
on my screen i sit on a laptop so it is hard to see if i
have a vertexpoint that is not connected in my medell.

Is there a way to make them biger the vertexpoint or a way
to light up the points that are not linkt by a line.
Example when you delet a edge with the delete key and
the vertex point is left. I know i need to use Delete Edge/Vertex.

Well is there to make the visual part of vertes points so i can see them better on my small screen.

Sorry for my english//Armandz
Armandz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2008, 08:30 PM   #2
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

To get rid of the vertices that are connected to only 2 edges you can select all of the vertices and press delete. Only these verices will be deleted.
About the size, I'm afraid I cannot help you.
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2008, 08:41 PM   #3
Armandz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Well it is not that easy.
I have to make new lines with the
Split Poligon Tool.

And if i dont have a line close to the vertex point then the model gets messt up because when i pres delit on the vertex point i loos the lines that was connected by it.

Example

A cube
*-------*
| |
* * <---- If i reemove that point the hole line dissaperas
| |
*-------*

*= Vertex point
(Looks funny when posted i think you get the idea)

Well i will think something out.
Another question is there a hot key to snap to vertexpoints so i can get nice and good lines when i use the Split Poligon Tool?
Something simmular to gridsnap or curvsnap?

Last edited by Armandz : 13-10-2008 at 08:44 PM.
Armandz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2008, 08:57 PM   #4
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hehe, that makes second ASCII advice (first was mine according to one of the users).
I didn't quite get it though. can you post a snapshot to what you mean? If you've got a model which loses detail when you delete vertices then there's something you obviously need to fix.
For snapping you've got the 'use snapping points along edge' in the split polygon properties. also you can use MMB to relocate the last vertex and in this case you can use all snapping options such as snap to points, to grid, etc.
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2008, 09:00 PM   #5
Armandz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Well i will start a new model so it is not so big of a deal.
Just in the stage of learning so i think i did something wrong.
Well i learn from my misstakes

TY for the help //Armandz
Sorry for my english //Armandz
Armandz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2008, 10:31 PM   #6
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

You can change stuff like vertex size in the Display>Polygons>Custom Polygon Display window. Or you can do it via Windows>Settings/ Preferences>Preferences, in the Polygon section. There are hotkeys for vertex snap (v), curve snap (c), grid snap (x) and there are options for the split poly tool for snapping.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2008, 12:08 AM   #7
Armandz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Ok
Thanks alot
Armandz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2008, 07:14 AM   #8
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Armandz

Example
Code:
   A cube
   *-------*
   |         |  <--edge a
   *         * <---- If i reemove that point the hole line dissaperas
   |          |  <---edge b
   *-------*
*= Vertex point
if you delete that vertext that edge should still exist shouldn't it?
the only time edge a and edge b would vanish as well is because....
i know why i just don't know how to say why. but it's to do with the connection of other verticies and edges.

i think you need a more specific drawing


....i think i asked a question here with an ascii drawing once...
for some reason no one here appreciates or understands ascii art :p
screen shots are the only pictures understood :p
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2008, 07:42 AM   #9
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

my understanding is an edge is made from two verts.., deleting one should kill the edge.., (though i have seen the edge remain which was annoying at the time). i always though 3D 101 was a vert is a point in 3D space.., two verts can form an edge, three plus form a plane??

if you form a cube, then cut with the edge loop tool.., you can not delete a vert from the new edge made unless you go to 'delete edge/vert' (whatever the name is) and deleting the vert will delete two edges with it by proxy.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.