Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-10-2008, 12:04 PM   #1
animind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default From world space to object space

Hello!

I was wondering how I could change a tool ( I need to scale down an object) to go from the world space to object space?

Thank you!
animind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2008, 02:36 PM   #2
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Double click on the tool to open the tool's settings and check either object or world there (or anything else you may want).
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2008, 09:44 PM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

You can also hold down the hotkey for the tool and left click, a marking menu of options will pop up.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 06:29 AM   #4
animind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Changing from object space to world space

Hello!

Thank you for your help.

Actually I made a mistake. I would like to scale the object in world space, but I can't find that option. Does the scale tool have? What I see right now is in the object space.

Thanks!
animind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 07:29 AM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Freeze the transforms.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.