Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-10-2008, 03:34 AM   #1
yobo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry IMPORTING IGES

Hi there

I'm importing IGES files (new to this), and the files come in way, way off the stage and its a nightmare trying to re-position them at 'default home'. Any help or correspondence much appreciated. Its probably quite simple but i'm absolutely stumped.
yobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 04:16 PM   #2
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

IGES files are never simple to import. most times it´s just one big mess. keep in mind that IGES is a (nurbs) curves format. so try to not convert it to poly while importing. import everything as nurbs if possible. this may reduce the chaos.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2008, 01:33 PM   #3
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

http://www.thedigitalfeed.co.uk/grap...-nurbs-to-maya

here's a guide on how to convert between rhino and maya using iges. I found it quite usefull when I had to do it. I remember the iges files coming into maya really big as well. If I remember correctly you had to set their scale to .1 or .01 and they would fit in the scene nicely.

hope it helps
__________________
www.animateme.me.uk
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2008, 09:12 PM   #4
yobo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks - i get that far, then positioning it onto the main stage so i can lay a ground plane does my head in. I can't work out the coordinates as the IGES files come in at XYZ 0.

Thanks
yobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 09:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.