Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-10-2008, 09:41 AM   #1
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default nCloth question

Hello!

I'm pretty new to nCloth (but not to maya), and i made animted flag, and was thinking of caching it.

Now the question is:
1) Do i save procesor if i cache flag nCloth animation

2) How to i make it so that nCloth flag is animated only from, say frame 400 to fram 700 (in other frames, the flag won't be vissible anyway) ?

tnx.

--edited--

3) Can i copy flag that is cached, so that the copy will be animated the same way?

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 24-10-2008 at 10:03 AM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2008, 11:40 PM   #2
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1) yes

2) nCache> Create nCloth Cache Options
start/end

3) One way i think it might work, Bake Cache, then copy keys. But this in theory can only work with an object with the exact same verts.

This theory is not tested but you can try.
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2008, 01:34 AM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Thanks for answering so quick on this one Aiko!

Aiko is correct on all counts, and regarding the last question, I've tried copying/duplicating nCloth objects, but they never work.

I found that making a preset of my settings, and just applying them to new nCloth objects works a bit better.

I'll ask Duncan B. at Autodesk about this today and get back to everyone
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank track with ncloth daverave Work In Progress 94 08-01-2011 12:32 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin« Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.