Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-10-2008, 08:19 AM   #1
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default Head model

just wondering If i could have an opinion on What you guys think,threw this together in 4 hours,which i am pleased about has a month or so ago this would of took me a few days.I know its a little sharp in places.

Just getting a feel for maya again after a 3 week lay off due to studies. But just wanted to ask would this be able to be animated with the relavant extra work added.

I really want to do a small demo reel with a character just walking threw a desert. So as soon as I am happy with the topology of my modelling I will get into the harder stuff of animating a full character.

I want to be able to add maybe a little speech as well maybe just a few words, would there be anything I would need to do with the head if i was planning on him talking??

Cheers guys

And remember I am still a newb kind of and was impresssed with the little head i did:attn:
Attached Thumbnails
 
silverspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2008, 08:20 AM   #2
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default

and again
Attached Thumbnails
 
silverspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2008, 07:04 PM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default Re: Head model

looks good from where i stand/sit

heh... just one thing... can you crop your images so we only see the relevant thing?

Originally posted by silverspawn
I want to be able to add maybe a little speech as well maybe just a few words, would there be anything I would need to do with the head if i was planning on him talking??
depending on if you want to move the mouth in sync with the words or not it could take a long time
i think you use clusters to control muscle groups on the face
although i dont know how you keep them cuz they disappear when you delete history....
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2008, 08:20 PM   #4
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So don't delete history.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2008, 08:31 PM   #5
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

delete non-deformer history ftw
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2008, 09:11 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Personally I think the model needs a lot of reflinement before going on to animation, go back to the low poly mesh and then refine that to get a better shape, theres lumps and ridges about and a lackof definition.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2008, 10:40 PM   #7
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Thanks guys.

This was just a test run will start another head model in a few days,

I know theres lumps and bumps here and there,I will make sure I spend a little more time defining my other.If i was planning on animating is there any particular expression I need to adopt top the head? I know you need the T stance for body, but what about the head?

I was just wondering how do you get the images cropped to size???

jason
silverspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2008, 10:58 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Just make it hav a neutral expression for the modeling pose.

As for cropping your images stick em into photoshop or GIMP or any image editing tool
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Female Head, Marlon John marlonjohn Work In Progress 18 13-01-2011 08:44 AM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.