Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-11-2008, 06:22 AM   #31
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

displacement was just for fun...

normal mapping also for fun, but for all the little details. i figure i could have a relatively cleaner mesh if i used normal mapping. because if i did keep all the indents then i have to worry about where all the vertices are going to connect to and they'll end up making a giant loop around the entire body because there's no place for them to end earlier....

only the gun, jetpack, and shield have normal maps applied to them. the wings don't, because they didn't look very good.

the wings are just seperate objects parented together....

forgot to mention the wings have been rigged so now they can open and close using set driven keys on some control curve
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2008, 05:53 AM   #32
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by GecT
And you're not going to see the beauty in the mats until you add your environment
ah yes... environment.... *whistles innocently*


anyway, it appears that i can't do what i'm wanting to do

i tried making particles emit light by instancing a point light to them but it failed.... which means the gun can't draw in light using particles...

:headbang:
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2008, 06:00 AM   #33
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i guess you could make them glow with a blinn...
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2008, 06:45 AM   #34
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

making the particles glow is no problem

i can just assign a shader that will show up in mental ray and boost the incandescence and add glow (although in my experience the glow doesn't get saved when its on a transparent part of the scene which makes it completely pointless and i'd have to find a way to do it in post)

the problem is getting the particles to emit light so they light up the scene.

as you can see from an exclusive attached picture the particles (emitted from a surface emitter) glow but it doesn't look right because they dont light up the gun


edit: wrong render
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D

Last edited by Chirone : 24-11-2008 at 06:48 AM.
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2008, 06:15 AM   #35
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Angry

since the point lights that get instanced to the particles don't emit light i thought to just make my own simulation of it with some point lights attached to a motion path that would cycle through the path.

this is what it looks like:


despite the actual gun being in the center of the light rig there is a concentrated bit of light on the ground that isn't directly beneath the gun itself.


this is a result because only ONE of the lights got set to intensity of 200 and the others stayed at 1 due to me thinking that i was changing all their intensities at once.
apparently selecting all of them in the hypershade and changing the attribute on one does not affect all of them.

also, trying to create a control object to control their intensity does NOT work because intensity is not an attribute one can link to using the Connection Editor, nor is it an attribute that shows up in the Attribute Spreed Sheet, or as an attribute that can show up in the channel box.

hence, mass changing the intensity of all the point lights is impossible, and this solution should and will be abandoned.

in fact, why don't i just make it easier on myself and make this a daytime scene and make it less dramatic....?
oh right... night time is better :headbang:



why do particles not emit light?
and why is intensity not an attribute?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2008, 06:50 AM   #36
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

could you do this with a bit of mel?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2008, 07:07 AM   #37
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

yes... yes i can....

i can change them all, but i really don't like hard coding stuff... i'll have to figure out how to do it properly at some point so it works for any point light
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2008, 07:10 PM   #38
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone

...but i really don't like hard coding stuff...
I thought you wrote AI algorithms for a living?... I was studying AI for a little while in my C# course, and trust me, MEL has nothing on it. Just pick up a book on MEL, or check around online. MEL isn't that bad. You should have it in no time.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2008, 09:53 PM   #39
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

yeah i am raised as a programer since 4 years ago (i have no idea what i was doing before then....), and so i don't like hard coding stuff because it's not very useful. making the code general and work for any sort of lights, is more desireable..

MEL isn't too hard, i'm just lazy.......
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2008, 06:50 AM   #40
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

ok, well i went to area autodesk and figured out how to change all the intensities of all the pointlights i have selected.

currently the UI i built for it was whipped up in a few minutes and is totally lightweight and bare.
can't do all the things that you normally would for a light's intensity (why would you want to assign a texture to a light?)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:30 PM   #41
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

quick update.
been dreaming about writing a script to mass change all the lights. and got a new internship so... bleeeeeh

for what i have it does what i want. as for being usable by others it's probably far from it





requires more work on the lights,
and also the particles in front of the gun should be swirling inwards... i suppose i should put a goal in the center and use the vortex field
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 05:57 AM   #42
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I don't think you even need all those lights. I mean, if all those little glowing particles were so close together, then wouldn't they appear to be more or less one source of light?
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 02:49 PM   #43
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Textures for a light, gobos maybe?

As for changing all the intensities/properties of the lights at once just select them all and use the attribute spreadsheet, everythings in there.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 04:18 PM   #44
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Gect: you're probably right, i probably dont need all those lights, but the particles start off far enough to make me think i need more than one

Originally posted by gster123
As for changing all the intensities/properties of the lights at once just select them all and use the attribute spreadsheet, everythings in there.
didn't i say i already tried that? the attribute wasn't there nor could i link the attribute to a custom one in a control curve
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 04:26 PM   #45
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

The intensity attributes not there?

Are you sure? Just made a scene with 10 point lights in there, selected them and went to the spreadsheet, and its there...???????

Picky
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.