Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-11-2008, 07:53 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default File Transfer (maya scene), how?

hi everyone, I am working on my project (maya) at home and office, every time when I work on my projects I'll copy it to my flash usb and take it to my office and work on it, later after office same back home and use my usb and work on my Maya scene, but it is all manually and bit hard and difficult for me, every time copy the whole project and past it in to usb and put it back into my hd to work on it,
the problem are
- when I tranfer the file to my office PC all the texture are gray and need to be reload them again(takes long time)
- some time my updates hasn't been transferred correctly.

so I need your help to explain it to me what kind of software do i need to use to transfer/updates/backup the maya project for me easily and automatically without losing/reloading my texture

any transfer software?

please if you know something say something,

dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 01:08 AM   #2
AikoWorld's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

To fix this.

Check the drive name in your office pc, assuming the work data is not on C:\

For example my workfiles here are on Z:\

Now if i where to copy files from one pc to another and work on it, without disrupting the path.

The workfiles for your home pc also needs to be Z:\

The flashdrive on your office pc can be anything, dosent matter really.

If your home pc has a different drive then maya is going to connect for example.

This is my office drive > Z:\Projects\divine_divinity
This is my home drive > X:\ttt\wannabee\Projects\divine_divinity

When you copy back and forth maya is going to say in the office, hey i cant find x:\ttt\wannabee\etc...

So what you need to do is the following.

This is my office drive > Z:\Projects\divine_divinity
This is my office usb drive > X:\Projects\divine_divinity

This is my home drive > Z:\Projects\divine_divinity
This is my home usb drive > X:\Projects\divine_divinity

hope you understand it
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.