Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-11-2008, 04:01 PM   #1
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HELP transparent images

Hi i simply am trying to use a texture that has some transparency in it...form photoshop. I am using a targa file and have made an alpha channel and saved as 32bit...But when I bring into maya the parts that are supposed to be transparent are black?? do i need to use a special shader...just using a lambert. please help this is for school. PS i have watched the free tutorial on the transparency maps. thanks
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 04:24 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

do you have a black and white map in the transparency too?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 06:09 PM   #3
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so i guess it just wasnt showing up in the work environment aka world?>?? when i rendered, the transparency was there,,,thats weird??
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 10:49 PM   #4
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

yeah.... maya is pretty annoying for that, if you go into your shader and go to hardware texturing you can turn the display texture to combination, somtimes does the trick.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.