Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-11-2008, 06:16 AM   #1
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering sharpness?

I am rendering a still that is not very sharp...as far as the clarity...is there a camera adjustment or a mental ray adjustment somewhere I can change to increase the sharpness...I am using an image based lighting and final gather...thanks
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2008, 08:37 AM   #2
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

If you're referring to a texture's sharpness, going into the attribute editor and turning the texture file's filter type to "off" should do it. You could also up the resolution in extra attributes to to match your texture resolution but I'm not sure offhand if that will affect anything. If it's just a general render quality issue, make sure you're choosing the appropriate render setting in render globals (e.g, set it to Production quality and customize from there).
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2008, 09:29 AM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

The production preset scares me with those raytrace settings, which you may not even need, A max AA sampling of 2 is fine but setting the contrast value really low would help, I say .02 taking it to something like .01 could be a bit much though, the Gauss or Mitchell filtering is good.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2008, 08:53 PM   #4
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Yeah,

just change your sampling from gauss to mitchell and you'll see a huge difference in clarity, and render times too.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2008, 03:38 AM   #5
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry...Where do I do that I have never heard of guass or mitchell...thanks so much
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2008, 03:46 AM   #6
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wow thanks i figured it out..HUGE difference using mitchell
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.