Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-12-2008, 03:10 AM   #31
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

nope its not xp64. Its also very strange the problems started with no change to my set-up at all.

Everything seems fine at the mo.

Here is my final eye test for now as I cant be bothered tweaking it any more until its in the body



As you can see I set up a second eye aswell when I come to add them to the body I will paint a second texture as having two the same looks odd
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 03:40 AM   #32
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

not bad - what's with the shadow around the pupil tho?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 10:39 AM   #33
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by DJbLAZER
Incremental save is a must. What if you accidentally delete some objects and then save? You're screwed.

And who cares if it fills up the harddisk, with harddisks around 1TB these days? And when you're project is finished you just delete all backups to free space.
uhhh... i do incremental saves manually... i didn't know you could do it automatically
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 10:44 AM   #34
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I'm pretty shocked that theres so many people that dont know about incremental saves.

Its a must! Get it switched on!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 11:21 AM   #35
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Originally posted by arran
not bad - what's with the shadow around the pupil tho?
well according to the training video there is always a shadow around the pupil - its what we think is the rim - in 3d though its were the transparency map is taking place.

Looking at this in day light (another late night last night) that does need a bit of tweaking, in fact I`m not liking this eye at all - the first one looked a lot better - I think I`ll come back to this ..

Video test of the pair - VIDEO FILE

Here they are inside the head with the eye sockets edited to fit the eyes. - I`m not like the eye texture at all now but moving on for now.

__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 11-12-2008 at 12:43 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 03:07 PM   #36
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try make the nose smaller for a more feminine look.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 04:17 PM   #37
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Really - just been working on the noise to fix some of the tri`s I had on there and I think its looking a little small compared to the ref





as you can see were I copied the half of the head over the noise is a little smaller than the ref.

here is the close up of the noise clean up. Going to tweak the mouth next.

Any one got any tips on how to model the tear ducts as I`m having problems trying to get them to look right.

__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 11-12-2008 at 04:19 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 06:42 PM   #38
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Think that its the difference between making an "ideal" female and a "real" female.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 09:15 PM   #39
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
and a "real" female.
hahhahaha that just looks odd to me :p

lookin good tweety, how long does it usually take you to work out all those tris? looks like a lot
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 09:40 PM   #40
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

With tear ducts, I would use the geo thats there then extrude the actual duct and then tweek it to better fit.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 10:11 PM   #41
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Originally posted by acid44
hahhahaha that just looks odd to me :p

lookin good tweety, how long does it usually take you to work out all those tris? looks like a lot
Well its taken no time at all - not that many in the end.



Thx gster123 I`ll give it a try
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.