Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-12-2008, 03:02 AM   #1
Ferran
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Instance (Duplicate Special) issue

Hi

(Using Maya 2008)

I know this question has been answered before, but trying the sugestions, has not solved my problem yet, so I'll try to explain my view of the situation:

- I start by creating a Polygon cube with 2 Subdivisions in width, height and depht.
- In the frontview I delete the left side of the cube. (picture 1)
- In the Duplicate Special menu I duplicate the right side of the cube as an instance. (picture 2)
- I select the top 2 vertex points. (picture 3)
- And use the Scale Tool to scale down the top end of the cube. (picture 4)

Now the question is... I would like the cube to look like the one in picture 5, and I can do that by using the Move Tool twice, so is the instance behaving wrong or is this behaviour right? Is it an on/off button that I'm missing, something like Keep Faces Together?

Thank You
Ferran
Attached Thumbnails
 
Ferran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 04:50 AM   #2
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

This is happening because the scale tools center is placed between the 4 verts you have selected. It automatically averages the verts locations, and places the tool (move/rotate/scale) at the center.

To achieve what your after simply select the verts. Then hit the 'insert' key on your keyboard. Then hold down the 'x' and drag the manipulator to the center, and it will snap to the center line (grid). Now hit 'insert' again and carry on with the scale operation.

Though this is more steps than just scaling as normal and then moving the verts inward.

But to answer your question, Yes this is usual behavior.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 04:24 PM   #3
Ferran
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for your reply

Ferran
Ferran is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.