Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-12-2008, 08:52 AM   #1
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Applying textures to particles?

So I made some rain in my first try using particles, I was aware that particles don't show up in a render but I thought I could find a way to apply a material to the particles. But I can't... so I am just wondering if I can do this? thanks!
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 11:59 AM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

you can apply textures and they will show up in renders

depends on the type of particle you're using
if it doesn't have (s/w) next to it it wont show up in hardware render, but if it doesn't then it wont show up in software render

they all show up in mental ray (why you'd use the other two is beyond me)

to apply a texture switch the particle render type to blobby, right click and assign a new material and do it like normal

alternatively you could just use instancing to make your particles look like a model you made
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 07:58 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone
you can apply textures and they will show up in renders

depends on the type of particle you're using
if it doesn't have (s/w) next to it it wont show up in hardware render, but if it doesn't then it wont show up in software render

they all show up in mental ray (why you'd use the other two is beyond me)
The fisrt part dosent really make sense.

If they have S/W next to them then they can be rendered with maya software renderer, if thy dont then there only hardware renderable, though any particle will show up in hardware, and as you said they all show up in MR

As to why you would bother, well hardware is super fast and software is a lot faster than MR which is a big consideration when rendering for comping.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.