Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-12-2008, 06:08 PM   #1
Hygami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default "proper" back view

Hay guys,

so I'm starting to model a Torso but
the standart viewa are front, side and top

since i dont need the top, how do i ceate a proper back view

i don't want to just drag it to the back view because in the lower part of the viewport you can still read "top"
but wanna read back...


looked through the panel options and there where only front side and top available

could someone help me?
Hygami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 06:19 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

you could make a new camera and then use the view cube thing to position it in the axis you want. You could even lock the rotate attributes.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 06:27 PM   #3
Hygami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank! but could you break down the steps of creating a new camera? that would be great!
Hygami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 06:29 PM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

sorry dude,

go to

create > cameras > camera

then in the view port go to

Panel > look through selected

then just tumble about
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 06:39 PM   #5
Hygami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah alright thanks but i noticed that the grid is not visible through the whole port like in the side and front view is that normal?
Attached Thumbnails
 
Hygami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 07:15 PM   #6
Hygami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

don't bother got that fixed!
Hygami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 07:16 PM   #7
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

oh right i get you, maybe you could duplicate the front camera and flip it around.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 04:02 AM   #8
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

you could also try looking under predefined bookmarks under the view menu of your panel. there are back, bottom views there.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.