Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-12-2008, 06:56 AM   #1
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default anyone made apple motion plug-ins?

i dont suppose anyone has made a plug in for apple motion 3 before have they?
i'm trying to make one, but you can only do it in final cut pro and motion doesn't recognize the plug in exported from final cut pro.
it's not as simple as just putting the plug in into a particular folder it seems... despite the rumour in the user manual...

it's so F****** lame (just like apple) :angery:
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 10:12 AM   #2
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm... it would seem that "click, drag, drop" isn't universally practiced...

I wonder if Steve Jobs has a still night! :p
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 12:25 PM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

oh no of course not.

if it were as simple as click and drag then all our troubles would be gone (actually i didn't even think of that)

good ol' apple. making life harder everyday (but so would microsoft :p)

anyway, turns out i should be able to do what i want to do by writing an apple script of making up my own project file for motion

*sigh* the learning phase is the most hardest and annoying part of new apps... least my list of acquired skills will continue to grow
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 04:01 PM   #4
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone
*sigh* the learning phase is the most hardest and annoying part of new apps...
Very true... back when I first started Maya, I didn't know there was a bevel tool... much time was wasted manually moving verts around! :p



Originally posted by Chirone
least my list of acquired skills will continue to grow

Does that mean we'll see Motion in your sig?

Btw, I didn't know you had a Mac...
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 04:09 PM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

[i]..

Btw, I didn't know you had a Mac... [/b]
I wonder if anyone here has a Hackintosh? lol :p
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 01:51 AM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by The Architect
Does that mean we'll see Motion in your sig?

Btw, I didn't know you had a Mac...
yeah, soon enough you might see it appear there

i dont have a mac, i just have to use one at work :p (i have an internship)

Gect: Hackintosh?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 02:13 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone

Gect: Hackintosh?
A proper X86 comp running OSX, due to "workarounds" for apples restrictions
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 02:20 AM   #8
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Bah its something a friend of mine told me about, people are building their own bootleg apple machines. I'm actually considering buying a Mac, though the Macbook Pros seem kinda bloated.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 02:21 AM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Lol Steve "workarounds", nice touch.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 02:30 AM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

haha, well thats it really.

Personally with macs I cant see any advantage that a compitant computer user would have over a decent windows box whilst saving themselves some money (and having the availablilty to upgrade to any new technology in the future)

The new macbooks are really gimicky, no mouse button, rubbish graphics screen, poor storage for the price, but they look nice!

If your after a laptop wait a little the quad cores will be coming out soon, for PC's.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.