Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-12-2008, 11:41 AM   #1
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rigid Body issues

Hey All

I don't know what happened but my active rigid body system does not animate. It just stays in one position

I'm not sure if I did something with Cache settings or something like that but I dont know how to fix it.

Actually pretty much everything in my dynamics does nothing from effects to rigid bodies.

Has anyone had this issue, or know how to resolve it?

I would appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks

Specs
Maya 8.5 and 2009
Mac OSXm leopard 10.5
4gbram
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2008, 11:43 AM   #2
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

BTW the rigid body system has work fine it the past. But all of a sudden it stopped working.
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2008, 06:23 PM   #3
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

You mean it stopped working on your current project or just stopped working totally?

If it's just that project, my best advice would be to start over. Since you yourself said "I'm not sure if I did something with Cache settings or something like that" then I'm not sure if there's anything anyone can do to help you.

Try deleting Maya's preferences folder to see if that resets it. Go to Start Menu > My Documents > (User if there is more than one user) > Maya > 2008(9) and then delete the Prefs folder. The next time you start Maya, it will ask to use old preferences or create new ones. Create new ones. See if that fixes it.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2008, 11:15 PM   #4
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply

I deleted my preferences but still my rigid bodies do not animate, nor fall.

This happens in any new or current project.


Im thinking about reinstalling maya however I thought deleting the system preferences would have the same effect.


Would love to hear more suggestions if anyone has any. Thanks!
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008, 03:59 AM   #5
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Just out of curiosity, you are attaching fields like gravity to these dynamic bodies, yes?
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008, 04:37 AM   #6
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okay it works! I had to go to solver>memory cache>delete , and now the rigid bodies seem to work.

However some of the effects still don't work. Mainly the shatter. It does absolutely nothing, and does not display any results. Anyone else experience this?

Thanks for the help Dave? Actually resetting the preferences helped solve some rendering issues (I used to have to select the objects in order to see them rendered not anymore)
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008, 04:42 AM   #7
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

***Thanks for the help Dave!
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008, 04:56 AM   #8
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay problem solved, When it doubt do two things:

1. Delete preferences!
2. Delete History!

These are two very simple rules all CG artists should live by
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.