Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-01-2009, 07:42 AM   #1
shazen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A.
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default prepare a scene for FBX export

Although I've used 3ds max for about 3 years, I'm new to Maya.

I use the Maya scenes I make in xna projects so I export all things from Maya as FBX.

When I have a poly object & modify it with a "Boolean Difference" operation using a second sacrificial poly, the modified poly displays properly in Maya. However, when I render it in xna, the sacrificed poly renders also. This is not desired.

Is there a way in Maya to prepare the mesh for export that the sacrificed poly doesn't come along.

It seems like in 3ds I'd use a "collapse all" feature but I do not see an equivalent in Maya.

Thanks.
shazen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 11:05 AM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I believe in Maya this is called "History".

So before you export your FBX model, make sure to select it, and go to:

EDIT > Delete by Type > HISTORY

or if you have multiple objects selected,:

EDIT > Delete ALL by Type > HISTORY

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 01:25 PM   #3
shazen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A.
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep. that was it. I was aware of deleting the history and thought I was routinely deleting it. However, I thought the history was one big history for everything. I would delete history without caring about what was selected thinking all history of all objects would be deleted. I didn't realize it's selection dependent... for obvious reasons.
shazen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 04:17 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i don't get why you find it obvious
that would be a BAD thing if it deleted all history and not the history of objects that are selected
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:36 AM   #5
shazen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A.
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's what I mean. Like the light went on in my head & made it obvious that it should be selection dependent. I would imagine there are many times you just want to delete history on a particular time. I just hadn't realized it till now.
shazen is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.