Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-01-2003, 12:20 AM   #1
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question torus

how can i make a torus skinnyer. I want to keep the whole in the middle the same, but change the size of it.

aka changing a torus into the bottom of these chairs.
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 12:28 AM   #2
Oculus
Subscriber
 
Oculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

F1 - Hypershade and materials.
__________________
- Chris L. Harkins -
Oculus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 12:34 AM   #3
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

make the torus and select it, then under Inputs in the Channel Box you'll see 'Selection Radius' and thats what your looking for
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 12:38 AM   #4
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ok

I dont think you guys understood what i meant. I meant making the hole bigger, but not the entier shape. i found it now.thx. The height ratio does it.
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 12:48 AM   #5
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ooops

my fault. you were right. I geuss I found out how to do it with a NURBS to.

So now how do I make text with NURBS?

Last edited by Ultragames : 13-01-2003 at 12:52 AM.
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 12:59 AM   #6
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Nurbs text? Create>Text Options Box. Change the "Type" near the bottom to curves. Once you create the text, you will only have the outline (in curves obviously) of the text. You'll have to do some work to get a surface you can see, however. One way to do it is to duplicate the text curves and move them a bit behind the originals. Now you can select both curves and choose Surfaces>Loft. I've heard of other techniques to make curves into surfaces, but haven't really experimented much with text. I'm sure there is a better way.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 01:00 AM   #7
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

By the way, make sure the Loft setting is on Nurbs.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 01:14 AM   #8
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ok

Thanks. i found a tut on lofting, so ill try that out. Im also having a problem with reflections. I have a surface that uses the granite material. how can i make it MORE reflective. (I have ray tracing on)
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 01:25 AM   #9
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Well, first things first. Make sure the material is either a blinn or phonge. Those work best. You can change this by right-clicking the object and choosing materials>material attributes, then changing the "type" at the top of the window. Anyway, to make it shinier, you can increase the reflectivity in the attributes window under the Specular shading tab. That will make the biggest difference. I don't know the specifics, but the reflection limit can be uped under the Raytrace Options tab as well as the reflection specularity. You should probably read up a little on what these two options are for in the help files before you do anything with them.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 01:31 AM   #10
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Well, I just experimented a little with it all and found that the reflectivity value under Specular Shading is really all you should have to change. Although the slider only goes up to 1, you can change it to any number you like. 4 should work well with a granite texture.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 01:58 AM   #11
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default awsome

aight. i got the reflections done. im goign to skip the text for now. Im messing around with lighting now. Trying to think of another objecti could add. hmm. I have a table. on the table is a cup with coffe in it, and a fork. what else?


PS: thanks for your help so far!

Last edited by Ultragames : 13-01-2003 at 02:04 AM.
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 02:06 AM   #12
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Plate, napkin, place mat, knife, spoon, glass, food, candle, ash tray, salt/pepper shaker, etcetc. Just look around your kitchen and find things to model.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 02:25 AM   #13
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

holly god, i can do half of that yet. well, mabey i can. but it would suck

Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 02:35 AM   #14
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

um. napkin sounds great. How do I do cloth?

Last edited by Ultragames : 13-01-2003 at 02:48 AM.
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 04:00 AM   #15
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DONE

I wil probably up date it, but hey. its ok. Now remember, ive only done Maya for a few days, like 4. but here it is.


The Tabel


Thanks for all of your help!!
Let me know what you think.
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.