Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-02-2009, 03:41 PM   #1
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dark patches on surface

Hey, im having some trouble with dark patches appearing on the surface of my models when rendered.

I think it may be the geometry especially in the corners, if you can help at all please do.

Here are some images:
Attached Thumbnails
 
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 03:42 PM   #2
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Corner detail
Attached Thumbnails
 
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 03:43 PM   #3
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And the render with smooth edges
Attached Thumbnails
 
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 03:44 PM   #4
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And with some edges hardened
Attached Thumbnails
 
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 04:12 PM   #5
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

perhaps it is because your geometry is a little messy. you should stick to 4 sided polygons. and if you have edges close together they will create a harder edge or pinch in your case.

...is it a macbook?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 04:22 PM   #6
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok thanks, any ideas on how to fix it? should i change the triangles into polygons?

And yes it is the new macbook pro.
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 10:28 PM   #7
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

i don't think you necessarily need to make your polygons 4 sided if you're modeling a hard object. it may be that your normals are messed up - but i'm not sure why that's not showing in your view port. i'd definitely try to clean up the geometry a bit though at the corner - try to get rid of that sharp corner.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.