Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-01-2003, 08:26 PM   #1
Rodi
Subscriber
 
Rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Antivirus with maya

I was ondering if there is any Ativirus that doesn't influence maya's performance. I've tried Norton (Not good) and Karsperky (Not GOOD). What else can I try?
__________________
Rodrigo Soares
www.r3dimensional.com
Rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 08:56 PM   #2
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have norton up all the time. Could I take it "offline" to improve performance with maya??? Are you sure there is an improvement?

Just curious.

If there are any gain with this, then I'll disable it. The only time I have had a virus was when some guy tried to send me an infected file via the MSN messenger.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 09:20 PM   #3
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I never use anti virus systems... they bog the system, make it run like crap,

and lets face it... as long as we keep on buying these "anti viruses" ...they will keep "appearing"
  Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 10:23 PM   #4
killerBee
Subscriber
 
killerBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ireland\galway
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Ya i am with kevin on that one ..i dont use a ant-t-virus killer i just format the pc every 12 weeks or so just in case i have been dont this for years..
__________________
P4 3.2 ATI 9800xt 256. 1gb ram 19"lcd ..
killerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 10:25 PM   #5
killerBee
Subscriber
 
killerBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ireland\galway
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

oops:: dont = doing ...sorry :p
__________________
P4 3.2 ATI 9800xt 256. 1gb ram 19"lcd ..
killerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 10:38 PM   #6
Rodi
Subscriber
 
Rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was working with norton, and everytime I was in Maya I would disable the antivirus. It seems a little better, but now I don't use antivirus anymore. I'll check if I can find some online antivirus, I think TREND has one.
__________________
Rodrigo Soares
www.r3dimensional.com
Rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 10:41 PM   #7
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

We'll I have Norton All the time and I dont see any problems with maya...

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 12:04 AM   #8
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'm with Emo. I run Nortons 24/7 and it makes no difference at all to Maya or any software on my PC if it's disabled or not.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 12:25 AM   #9
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yep same as killerBee! I reformat so often..like every 2-3 months so it is always ok...plus if any one gets a virus, then the anti virus wont have the update for another 3 months to actually stop it

any ways its a personal thing I guess, some like it, some feel safer with it, and some are made to have it if they use company emails.. but when doing big renders..it does my system no good to have the Anti- thingy in the background..

in 5 years I have probaly had about 50 viruses sent to my mail but its so easy to see that there are viruses.

The only time I have ever had one "go off" was when I was just about to format and wanted to see what it done so I hit the .exe

I was expecting lots of fun like scrolling screens etc...but it was fairly lame, just started destroying dll files
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 12:57 AM   #10
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Kevin
The only time I have ever had one "go off" was when I was just about to format and wanted to see what it done so I hit the .exe
You have to be careful with stuff like that because once I got a virus that was set to go off exactly April 23rd and when it did it destroyed so much that it even messed up my HARDWARE, not just files... (it did something to your mobo or something)

anyway, I got lucky and 3 days before April 23rd I got rid of it :banana:

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 01:17 AM   #11
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nothing worrys me emo... Im harder then a coffin nail
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 07:03 AM   #12
-<{ JB }>-
Subscriber
 
-<{ JB }>-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 510
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, some virusses can screw up your BIOS and stuff like that. I have norton on 24/7 and I have no probs with Maya. Antivirus software can be really useful, but there is nothing like a good reformat to really keep your PC at it's healthiest and fastest. The pain is reinstalling everything though!
__________________
Take a glance at my <a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9428"><b>Porsche 959</b></a> WIP
-<{ JB }>- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.