Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-03-2009, 05:14 PM   #1
Klock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Command polyToSubdiv failed

Hey everyone.

So I'm making this trophy in 3D Maya and I want to convert it from Polygones to Sub Divisions. But when I try to convert it I get an error:

// Error: Command polyToSubdiv failed. Open Script Editor for details.
In the Script Editor it says:

polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 1000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polySurface3|polySurfaceShape4;
// Warning: Nothing is selected. Select objects or components to delete. //
// Error: polyToSubdiv1 (Poly To Subdiv Node): Cannot create subdivision surface as the resulting surface would have more base mesh faces (1150) than the maximum allowed (1000).
// To increase maximum allowed, change Maximum Base Mesh Faces in Convert to Subdiv Options. //
// Error: Command polyToSubdiv failed. Open Script Editor for details. //
Ive got some images here:



Does anyone have a clue of what could be wrong?

Edit: Already tried to increase the "Maximum base mesh faces". As well as trying to use the "Clean up" function. None of them work.

Last edited by Klock : 10-03-2009 at 05:19 PM.
Klock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 05:50 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default Re: Command polyToSubdiv failed

you have kinda answered your own question...

I think this is your problem

Cannot create subdivision surface as the resulting surface would have more base mesh faces (1150) than the maximum allowed (1000).
and this is your solution

To increase maximum allowed, change Maximum Base Mesh Faces in Convert to Subdiv Options.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 05:52 PM   #3
Klock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah. I know, but when I increase the Maximum base mesh faces it still doesnt work.
Klock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 09:41 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

are you sure?
post a screen shot of your options box when you convert to sub-d and then if it happens again as you claim then post the screen shot of the error message
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:57 PM   #5
Klock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Alright here's some more screeshots.



Thanks in advance.
Klock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:17 PM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

why don't you increase the number of polys to 1150 rather than 10k.
...also why do you want to convert to sub-d?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 09:00 PM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

and it still refused to convert after you did the cleanup on nonmanifold edges?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2009, 11:38 AM   #8
Klock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I ran the clean up thing and it still doesnt work.

I'm somewhat new to 3D and stuff. I've learned everything from tutorials on the net and SubDs looks like a sweet way to keep the poly count down and still get a smooth result. I dont really know what I'm talking about very well.

I really appreciate you guys taking you're time to help me out!
Klock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2009, 11:56 AM   #9
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

uhh...

what do you want with a low polycount? are you making for a game or do you have low hardware specs?

trying to reduce your polycount by turning stuff into sub divisions... that's.... umm... odd?
when you turn an object from poly to NURBS or sub-d it no longer counts towards the polycount because it's no longer made of polygons

sub-ds are infinately curved like NURBS so it'll always be smooth
but you can make polygons fake the smooth by softening the normals.

the problem could be with the bottom of your trophy
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2009, 05:11 PM   #10
Klock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah alright. Yeah my comps specs are kinda low so whenever I get a to high res model maya starts to get a little slow. And I delete the history from time to time as well so its not that. Its just soon time for a better comp I guess.

But I'll just try to smooth it with the smooth tool then.

Thanks for the heads up on poly, nurbs and subDs btw.
Klock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2009, 12:35 AM   #11
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

smooth tool... that's one way of doing it i guess...

it will dramatically boost your polycount though, you could use smooth on the handles only and then add the nessecary edge loops to the cup to keep things in quads
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2009, 01:38 AM   #12
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

I'll do you a tut on how to do a trophy tomorrow if you want, and if i'm not to hung over.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.