Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-03-2009, 03:41 PM   #1
Godmil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default building windows, an easy way?

Hello,
I'm trying to model a large towerblock, and the windows need to be recessed, with a window ledge sticking out under each one. There are many windows and I can't find a simple method for doing them all. I'll describe how I'm doing them (which is very slow) and if anyone can tell me a nicer way it would be greatly appreciated.

for each column of windows I've used the split poly tool to cut two vertical lines for the window edges, then for every window I've made similar horizontal splits, after making sure these were aligned I used extrude to push in the windows then again on the faces below to make the ledges... then after they were all made I did vertex manipulations to get them all the same size. It's a very time consuming processes.
Any advice would be greatly apprecated.

thanks.
Godmil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2009, 09:28 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

if everything is the same you can just make one part of the wall with a window
duplicate that
move the duplicate around to get it into position
you can change the pivot point and snap it to a particular vertex so then you can precisely move the duplicated geometry inline with the other one
or you could use duplicate special and do a translate

select all the geometry, mesh > combine (or hit the button on the polygon shelf), go to vertex selection mode, select all the verticies, find the merge vertecies option box button in the modelling menu set, change your threshold to something low, like 0.01, hit apply and everything is combined happily

if things are all different then you don't have much of a choice but to do them one by one, or do what i said above and then change the windows after.
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 12:14 AM   #3
Godmil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's very good advice thanks. I'd rulled out doing duplicates because I wasn't sure how to build the wall around the windows... I never thought of duplicating a piece of wall with the window, that makes a lot of sense, thanks very much.
Godmil is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.