Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-04-2009, 07:35 AM   #1
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default issue with Mac, Maya, and Middle Mouse click

at work i was put infront of a mac with maya and told to do stuff as a break from typing and researching code (and i like it when things work... so maya compared to coding is tranquility)

and when testing out the controls of mac maya i found the most disturbing thing ever...

the middle mouse button doesn't work the way it should... whenever i click it the scene begins to dolly in discrete steps, regardless of what key i hold down on the keyboard

this means i can't track, adjust values, or assign materials using the middle mouse button
i suppose adjusting values in the channel box or assigning materials is still fast (ish) to do the other ways, but the lack of tracking is quite difficult to deal without
(i made a keyboard short cut to bring up the tool, but it's still rather annoying to have to change tools when you just need to use one)

i assume this isn't normal and there might be an issue somewhere that is resolvable?


also (this is just a ramble, not a complaint or anything...) i've totally forgotten what hotkeys i've set myself! :p
i would start pushing certain key combinations only to find that the command isn't even assigned to that hotkey
the only combinations i remember setting is ctrl+1 to do a render preview, and ctrl+alt+h to bring up the hypergraph
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2009, 11:20 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i don't have any of those problems.

Where do you work btw?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2009, 11:50 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

maybe it's just something wrong with the mac? it is a pretty old one. it doesn't render properly and there are a few UI issues, i think it might have something to do with the graphics card



hammer: i work for Kiwa International, they do post production ADR stuff.
i work on the software that produces their products (currently going to start work on the next version of their flagship product voiceQ)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2009, 05:19 PM   #4
halfloaf
Subscriber
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Chirone,

Open up the preferences and scroll down to the bottom of the "interface" menu to "Devices". You'll find your mouse settings there.

-Halfloaf
halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2009, 10:34 PM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

thanks halfloaf, i'll try that the next time i get put in front of that computer
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.