Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-04-2009, 09:14 PM   #1
Balloonhead3
Registered User
 
Balloonhead3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: on the 5th galaxy away from urs
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Format help

How can I save or turn a maya model into an object, I joined a team and we are currently creating add-ons for a game, I am the models person and I new to turn the file into file.obj because they are using milkshape, or Blender.
Balloonhead3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2009, 09:42 PM   #2
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

First you have to enable the obj exporter in the plugin manager then use the export as from the file menu
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2009, 10:21 PM   #3
Balloonhead3
Registered User
 
Balloonhead3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: on the 5th galaxy away from urs
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm in the manger but there isn't any Obj exporters i can load D:
I have a mac and it might be different.
Balloonhead3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2009, 11:36 PM   #4
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Window> Settings/Preferences> Plug-in Manager. Tick the check boxes for objExport.mll
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 12:52 AM   #5
Balloonhead3
Registered User
 
Balloonhead3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: on the 5th galaxy away from urs
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thing is I don't have it, is that normal?
Balloonhead3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 02:41 AM   #6
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Doesn't seem normal but I don't know anything about the differences between PC/MAC versions. I take it if you're using this to create/output assets, you're not using a PLE version.....this is a longshot but you could try to download Maya Bonus tools from autodesk's area section for whatever version you have on the off chance they stuck it in there...should be standard with the stock install, though.

http://area.autodesk.com/index.php/d.../plugins_list/

You sure you scrolled down the entire list of plugins and didn't see it? Should be around 3/4 of the way down.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 08:13 AM   #7
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Please post the EXACT version of maya you are using.

The obj plugin has gone through several instantiations depending on the version of maya you have.

After autodesk took over they apparently decided to scuttle objexp to foist their own fbx format on everyone.

I currently am using maya 2009 unlimited and I have both the fbxexport and objexport mlls, but I can swear that some earlier versions just after autodesk took control the objexporter disappeared.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 09:35 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by ctbram
but I can swear that some earlier versions just after autodesk took control the objexporter disappeared.
Nah its always been in there, otherwise no one could have done anything in Zbrush without it, and that, well would have caused an uproar.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 10:37 AM   #9
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Sorry. There has been a problem in maya nurbs modelling since maya 3.0. You had to export and re-import to fix it. I thought it was obj but it is fxb.

apparently it was version 8.5 where it was removed. Here is part of an old post I made....

==========old post==================

Back when nurbs were in fasion a common problem with maya cv curves and nurbs surfaces was that sometimes their parameterization would become wonky.

An example would be taking a nurbs patch and cutting it into smaller patches and the parameterization say was 3 by 4 in uv and you split it into 2 3 by 2 patches. The parameterization of the new patches in v would not go from 0 to 2 as you would expect.

Now you could rebuild the surfaces but this would shift the isoparms effecting the new surface and every surface they come in contact with and if you are building a model with hundred of patches this could turn into a bloody nightmare!

In the old days the way to fix this was to export the nurbs surface in dxf and then import it back into the scene. This would some how correct the parameterization and NOT shift the isoparms.

However since Autodesk has taken over maya in version 8.5 the old dxf exprt is no longer available and now their is only the fxb export which does not fix the problem like the dxf export did.

So it was dxf that I was thinking of and as I look at maya 2009 they still do not have dxf export anymore which really BORKS nurbs modeling because I have confirmed the parameterization bug still remains!
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 23-04-2009 at 11:07 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 09:32 PM   #10
Balloonhead3
Registered User
 
Balloonhead3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: on the 5th galaxy away from urs
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh now its really helpful. Its called FXB?

on and i have v8.5 and i also believe i have found it, is it called "FXBmaya.bundle"? I can also see that it had been checked on, but how do i convert the file to OBJ.?

Last edited by Balloonhead3 : 23-04-2009 at 09:38 PM.
Balloonhead3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 09:51 PM   #11
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

No. obj and and fxb are different things. Comp together a screenshot showing all the plugins in your plugin manager so we can take a look.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 11:37 PM   #12
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

My bad! I took you on a side track.

Do as Ni suggests. Open your plugin manager and grab and post a screenshot so we can see the plugins you have.

Sorry to go off on a tangent fbx and dxf two completely different things then obj.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 23-04-2009 at 11:43 PM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 11:44 PM   #13
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

I checked and for v8.5 on the mac you should be looking for something that looks like this...
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009, 08:28 PM   #14
Balloonhead3
Registered User
 
Balloonhead3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: on the 5th galaxy away from urs
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh shiz, I do not have it D: can I download it somewhere? ehehehe, what if i have a learning edition ? D:




ooops

Last edited by Balloonhead3 : 24-04-2009 at 09:18 PM.
Balloonhead3 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.