Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-05-2009, 09:53 PM   #1
sifidis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Question help on orange slice design

how do I design the basic shape of an orange slice? (leave the texture etc) i mean just a slice of a sphere. the only idea i have is reducing the history in the 'make sphere' panel. what about filling what is made? spheres are made empty in maya what about filling them?

:headbang:

Last edited by sifidis : 06-05-2009 at 10:30 PM.
sifidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 12:15 AM   #2
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i would make a poly sphere delete all the faces except for the ones to make up your segment, this will leave you with just the outside and an empty core like you said then using extrude edge and the append poly tool i would slowly fill it up their maybe and easier way around this maybe a tad faster but the results will be very similar
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 01:40 AM   #3
sifidis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i did what you said. i left just a quarter of a poly sphere, just like the outside of the slice and then selected the edges of one side, one by one so they made half a circle. the problem is when i extruded. it does close the gap somehow, but it makes a bump in the center and the line that is created is not aligned. i just extruded on one axis, being careful not to spoil the geometry. what is wrong? if it helps you, when i extrude it closes slowly not to a straight line but like a circle that is closing and with a bump on the front-back axis..

i also did the append poly tool. it just returned the scene to object mode. what is the purpose of that tool?

thanks in advance.
sifidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 06:20 AM   #4
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i dont really understand what you mean the append poly tool basically if you have three edges will fill in the remaining gap basically nothing you couldnt do with the extrude tool but a bit faster. Is it possible to upload a screen shot of what you have and i would be more then happy to follow this up
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 06:30 AM   #5
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i quickly put this together with just going from the top to the bottom with an extrude like the image ill attach after
Attached Thumbnails
 
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 06:31 AM   #6
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

like this
Attached Thumbnails
 
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2009, 07:35 AM   #7
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm trying 2 explain something..........
i attached the zip file which contains the screen captures(images)
1.take a poly sphere
2.then make a quarter by deleting d unnecessary faces
3.select d edges what i selected in d image
4.goto editmesh->bridge(divisions=0)
5.now select d edge loops n where we have to fill d holes(observe 5(1),5(2))
6.select d 2 edge loops n goto mesh->fill hole
7.then u got like this 7th image
8.i think d edge is not necessary,delete if u too feel like me(follow d image)
if u require continue the loops with split polygon tool,i think its not necessary
anyway 10x for watching

Last edited by 3ddon : 21-05-2009 at 07:23 PM.
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2009, 07:28 PM   #8
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmmmmm,already i attached a zip file(which contained images),
but it not shows here,so i'm attaching again.........
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2009, 09:51 PM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

It's probably over the 200kb size limit :x
Gen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2009, 01:33 AM   #10
lillsnopp
Registered User
 
lillsnopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just use Boolean.

Example included took about 5 to 10 seconds to make, no real polygon difference (amount). And from there you can make it beautiful.

Cheerio
Attached Thumbnails
 
lillsnopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2009, 06:20 AM   #11
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by lillsnopp
Just use Boolean.

Example included took about 5 to 10 seconds to make, no real polygon difference (amount). And from there you can make it beautiful.

Cheerio
__________________________________________________ __
nice,but with which shape u booleaned?
plz xplain clearly.........
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2009, 06:59 AM   #12
lillsnopp
Registered User
 
lillsnopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Two cubes, union them in a suitable shape, Choose your sphere of choice (primary, white) and then your cubes (green, ie, secondary) and take Booleans DIFFERENCE.

And there you go. The absolout Quickest way I could think of, no doubt others can do better then me, but I wanted to help.

I included step by step ANIMATED GIF if I am just rambling incoherent here.

Hope that helps.
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by lillsnopp : 22-05-2009 at 07:06 AM.
lillsnopp is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.