Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-05-2009, 11:10 PM   #1
lillsnopp
Registered User
 
lillsnopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fur Question

Okay guys, I am technically not a newbie but rather oldschool, but I have not used Maya for years and years and just now came back to the lovely "scene".

To update myself I am building my apartment with all that entails and trying to remember everything. I gave my girlfriend a teddybear which I am now working on recreating but have some serious problems with the fur.

I cant remember anything and the little I remember of the fur function does not really work as I want it to. I rarely ever used it previously so I did not really care.

Problem is that I have the teddybear and when trying to apply fur to it, either specific face or the entire thing ONLY ONE FACE gets the fur.. Why?

I've been reading the online documentation and its pretty straightfoword and this is neither getting mentioned and there is no solution to it. I even dusted of some old books to try to find the problem but my ignorance is clearly to much.


I included a picture of a mockup so you can see the problem. In this render I choose the ENTIRE thing to be furred but only the FRONT faces got fur, if I chose ANY of the other faces (instead of the entire poly) I get the exact same thing, no difference.

Best Regards
L
Attached Thumbnails
 
lillsnopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2009, 11:23 PM   #2
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

With fur you have to layout Uv's
otherwise Maya doesn'y know how to aplly the Fur.
Maya dynamics are pretty volatile, but if you get it to work for you you can get some nice results
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2009, 11:29 PM   #3
lillsnopp
Registered User
 
lillsnopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mastone
With fur you have to layout Uv's
otherwise Maya doesn'y know how to aplly the Fur.
Maya dynamics are pretty volatile, but if you get it to work for you you can get some nice results
Can you give me a helping hand, some encouraging words perhaps?

And a step by step guide I knew there was a reason I never bothered with the fur, its like being a virgin again its pathetic.


It just seems to go into chaos as soon as I apply it.
lillsnopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2009, 02:36 PM   #4
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

http://www.google.nl/search?client=f...=1&oq=maya+fur
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.