Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-05-2009, 12:53 PM   #1
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default 3d paint tool not working

When ever i try to assign a texture using the 3d paint tool, nothing happens and no texture is created.
Ive checked the help and I seem to be doing everything right yet nothing happens
any ideas what might be wrong?

edit: tried it in a new scene and it worked but It still wont work on my ship

Last edited by elephantinc : 25-05-2009 at 01:20 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2009, 10:27 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

it works on a new scene but not your space ship one?

that's weird... that's happened to me with the opticalFX too... kinda weird

i can't think of a solution other than to make a new scene, import whatever you want to paint on (just the single model) and hope that it still works...

maybe we've done something somewhere that's just screwed everything up for the scene....
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2009, 10:40 PM   #3
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

maybe my pc just cant with it it a heavy scene...
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2009, 07:48 AM   #4
Necromancerfr
Registered User
 
Necromancerfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1 Assign a file texture using any shader (eg Blinn)


2 Press 6

3 Right Click on the object Then choose paint>3dpaint tool

4 then paint
__________________
necromancer
Necromancerfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2009, 09:34 AM   #5
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I already tried it
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2009, 10:30 AM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i figured he already did that (so i didnt suggest that)

but yeah, elephantinc, are you able to try my suggestion with success? start a new scene import a part of the model and do it that way? or did i get something wrong?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2009, 04:32 PM   #7
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default


My reply didnt work for some reason
sorry, didnt have time to try it, was out all day
Worked like a charm
thanks for the tip!
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 04:59 PM
where can i post info about 3D job openings? atadami Members Lounge 3 03-12-2010 10:51 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.