Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-05-2009, 11:15 PM   #16
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

I'll just post that one, I dont want to detract from your thread. The PLE watermark seems to cover less of the screen but is more pronounced where it is. Your mausoleum is looking cool and creepy
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2009, 11:53 PM   #17
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the picture Ben. Your right it is less obtrusive than mod tool. It wouldnt be a bad thing if i used the maya ple, to work out the rust since i havent used it in quite some time. Though i couild you both apps one to model the other to render.
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 03:38 PM   #18
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Originally posted by WynterNyght
Thanks for the picture Ben. Your right it is less obtrusive than mod tool. It wouldnt be a bad thing if i used the maya ple, to work out the rust since i havent used it in quite some time. Though i couild you both apps one to model the other to render.
usually with PLE's you cant export to a common file format, to prevent people then getting someone else to render the scene for them
Not sure about mod tolls though
I know the maya PLE can open some common file formats but it cant export them
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 12:44 AM   #19
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Alright so heres a pic of me trying to make the fire the lightsource. Not sure if im doing it right but i have 2 point lights one in each bowl
Attached Thumbnails
 
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 02:14 PM   #20
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Fire doesn't emit white light
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 04:26 PM   #21
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks gect, yeah i actually changed that after i posted that. Heres what it looks like with a orangish color. Something is still missing though, whether it be more detail on the building, more objects im not sure yet.
Attached Thumbnails
 
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 05:48 PM   #22
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Heres one with raytracing shadows, slow as hell to render due to the fire and smoke.
Attached Thumbnails
 
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 06:12 PM   #23
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Looks good (much better rendering than I'd be able to do).

I do think, however, that the smoke looks a bit heavy and dense, both in the quantity/opaqueness, and in the fact that it's not wisping up very far. I guess it depends on what's being burnt...
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 07:07 PM   #24
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks stwert yeah the reason the smoke isnt going far up is because of the container (which isnt visible). Ill have to make it higher
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 08:21 PM   #25
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

I'm liking some of these latest ones.... it has a nice atmosphere building up.

Nice!
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 11:18 PM   #26
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks im still trying to work out there render Mantra, im so use to mental ray. Heres a pic of it rendered with there physical based render. As you can see lots of noise im still messing around with setting, but it takes forever with this rather than the micropolygon render.
Attached Thumbnails
 
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2009, 03:28 AM   #27
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Heres a view from the front. I attempted to edit the fire, forgetting that in doing so i would have to resimulate and recook it, then saving the cache of the low and high rez for each fire to disk. Easy just takes a while. Im also thinking of using a different object for the fire to burn, right now its a big spheres in the bowls, they are just not visible on render.
Attached Thumbnails
 
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2009, 05:05 AM   #28
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

If this had the fog and clouds the first image had it would look so much cooler.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2009, 03:39 PM   #29
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Gect, im actually working on the fog, or trying to for some reason the particles arent rendering. Im sure its user retardedness on my part but ill figure it out lol. Though im sure i can get the clouds back in, dome image
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jay_Outlaws Tales WiP thread Jay Work In Progress 293 22-02-2016 04:00 PM
apache WIP andrew_sorensen Work In Progress 9 23-12-2010 10:22 PM
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 06:22 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.