Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-06-2009, 09:30 PM   #1
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default render vertex - quick question

hi folks!

how do I go if I want to render only the vertices of an object, not the actual geometry itself. I´d like to render a night sky full of stars...


tia!
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 12:17 AM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

That sounds like a pretty crappy way to go about doing it.

Instead either do it in post or use particles and play with their shader.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 12:41 AM   #3
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

I appreciate your participation chris - tho I find your comment a little bit useless.

the reason why I´d like to use the verts for rendering is because I have a model now representig the (exact) coordinates of about 9000 stars with its vertices' position. in addition the verts are colored to match the apparent brightness of the stars at night.

unless you have an idea how to pointConstrain particles to the objects vertices and color each particle refering to the vertexcolor I think I stick to my plan.

nevertheless - thx for your reply

dan
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 02:35 AM   #4
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Hmm, no idea.
What immediately came to mind was to make a cube, and snap it to a vertex. Duplicate and snap to another, and so it goes.

then select them all and scale them until they look good, then apply a nice white shader with a glow. Then you get a nice looking starfield, though it takes a while...
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 02:45 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Joopson
though it takes a while...
a repetitive task that can be automated no less... perhaps joopson's answer is actually correct (it's quite clever imo) and you just need to write a script that will duplicate and snap cubes to the verts.

just throwing in a suggestion, i don't actually know the code to do such things yet...
writing the code to duplicate an object would be simple, but i'm not quite sure how to cycle through every vertex in a mesh to snap the position of the cube to it
getting an array to enumerate through of all the verts in a mesh might actually be trivial, i'm not sure, haven't tried it...

i could possibly try and find out if you like joopson's idea... it does sound like an easy automatable task, although if you have 9000 cubes that could put a bit of a strain on your computer... (planes maybe not so being only 1/6 of a cube)

could possibly be an easier way....


not sure yet how to solve the colour problem though... unless you tell each cube/plane to change their colour depending on their distance from the camera, which will be dynamic, and you'd end up with 9000 materials in your hypershade and your scene would probably crash as soon as you open it....
unless you can assign one material to them all that changes depending on the distance of the object.... which might be possible with expressions..... doing the scripts and expressions for this might be mightily trivial and doable within 10 minutes... or it could be a nightmare and take a few hours or days...

actually i think how much glow you get depends on how far away from the camera the object is...

when do you need this done by?






or, you could just emit particles from object, they are emitted from the verticies.
i suppose you'd use per particle colouring too, haven't figured that one out though
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D

Last edited by Chirone : 02-06-2009 at 07:39 AM.
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 08:48 AM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Personally I would use particles, at their default emitting form vertexes is what they do when set to emit form an objhect with a mni/directional, setting their speed to 0 so thay stay on the surface, you are then open top how you want to shade them (instances, points etc etc).

If you wanted to do the scripting then you would need to find the vertex names with a loop then for each vertex find the position using Xform which you can then use to position a cube. I did something similar for some research to pass mocap animated scanned data into FEA fluid analysis that required the vertex positions on a per frame basis.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 10:34 AM   #7
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I made a script awhile back to snap particles to vertices, I shall post it up later in the day, should get you started.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 12:02 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Chris, theres no real need to unless you get more control over standard emissions. They emit from the vertexes when using omni etc, so with the speed set to 0 they will stick to them, unless you need them to move at all but then you could use the goal weight.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:23 PM   #9
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Call me stupid, but i would use a granite 3d texture you can fiddle with 3 color tabs
randomize it etc.
it's easier then particles and if you apply particles on a sphere it would be evenly spaced so it wouldn't look right
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:30 AM   #10
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

a good point but by the sounds of it falott won't have a sphere, as mentioned before the exact coordinates of the stars has been mapped out, and i don't think granite texture would give the control to put star-looking features in the place of intention

oh well.. i guess we can only wait to see what falott choses to do
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 12:16 AM   #11
Increality
Registered User
 
Increality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This topic is a bit old, but just in case someone stumbles across it again like I just did.
I've gathered part of this info from this Maya wireframe interface tutorial - YouTube on youtube which describes rendering wires. But you don't need to watch the video unless you need further clarification, I'll explain below:

Select desired object, in Attribute Editor, go to Drawing Overrides (believe it's under the shape tab). Check the box for Enable Overrides, turn Shading off. Alternatively you can leave shading on if desired and you'll render the vertices on top of the mesh (less control this way when going into post).

Convert your object to a softbody (this allows vertices to render). Dynamics (upper left dropdown)> Soft/Rigid Bodies> Create Soft Body (default options should be ok).
Set renderer to Maya Hardware. Batch render, or whatever you need to do. PNG or Tiff to save out the alpha.

You can also switch to Hardware 2.0 to render out the wires separately...Maya Hardware 2.0 Tab> Batch Render Options>Render Mode> Wires. Under MultiSample Anti-Aliasing, set it on and to 16 sample count.

Hope this helps

*edit* I forgot to mention, changing the color under Drawing Overrides will change the color of your wires/vertices. Also, Maya is a bit finicky when Batch rendering Maya Hardware. Don't hit the options box for Batch Render, just hit the Batch Render text.

Last edited by Increality : 26-09-2013 at 12:33 AM.
Increality is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.