Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-01-2003, 07:11 AM   #1
dkouts
Registered User
 
dkouts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Using "Stand-In" objects...

Does Maya allow you to animate with "stand-in" geometry?

Suppose you have a large scene with tons of detailed geometry,
could you display a "rough version" of those objects, that you quickly
model yourself, then have Maya render the actual complex
geometry?

An example might be a dynamic simulation with many things
interacting, how would you tell Maya to swap the objects for
simplified (rough poly) versions of the objects for interaction,
but each time you do a test render or batch render, Maya would
automatically use the full detailed geometry in any render.

A better example might be doing character animation with IK,
that instead of deforming the limbs with every move of a handle,
just animate with stand-in boxes, but any render will be of the
full deformed character...


Daniel
dkouts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2003, 07:22 AM   #2
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Not sure how to do it with dynamic simulations (I only know how to do a falling box...), but with characters, yes, you can do this. There are several different approaches, but you can use stand-in objects for fast manipulation and then render only the fully-rigged mesh.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2003, 07:29 AM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Not sure how to do it either but Pre-Render and Post-Render mel scripts (render globals) might be the answer...

Pre-Render is executed right before rendering and Post-Render right after the rendering is completed. I've used this to change the poly smooth divisions.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!

Last edited by kbrown : 17-01-2003 at 07:32 AM.
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2003, 03:49 PM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Mainly what I do to keep testing simulation-time to a minimum, is to just use a lower amount of particles for testing, then at rendertime, increase the rate to taste.

I believe, although I've never used it, that there is somethin called, "Dynamic Layers" that might be of help here?

Check the docs to see if it exsists, and what it does.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.