Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-08-2009, 10:42 AM   #1
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Floating Windows? is it possible?

Hi,

Is there any wya in maya you can create a floating window where you can view a video. i.e a reference movie for example.

Rather than keep minimizing maya or making maya's whole window smaller

Thanx guys?
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2009, 08:10 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Couldn't you just use windows media player and set its options to stay on top of other windows?
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2009, 12:19 AM   #3
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

wow...thanx... 1) i didnt know media player does that...

and 2) i need quicktime as i can frame through it.

If i can frame through in media then u are the answer to all myprayers!

However,...whether it works or not. Thank you so much GecT!!
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2009, 03:50 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Well there's a bit of freeware out there than can do that, Deskpins does it. Also xNeat's windows manager has the ability to keep windows on top and even change transparency and I know it definitely works with QT, there's a commercial and a freeware version, the freeware version does what I need it to do and I'm running it on Vista x64 with no problems sooo I guess that can help you out.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2009, 03:05 PM   #5
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

I know you've got the answer that's probably best for now, but I'd look into getting a second monitor at some point if it is possible for you to do so.
It took me many months to get mine but if you want to get into 3d work seriously,having two two monitors really does help a lot!
I know it's not always an option but for following tutorials etc it's a wonder compared to smaller windows or switching between them. And it's brilliant for reference images whilst working on a model.
So even if it takes a while saving those hard earned pennies, it's worth it in the long run.
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2009, 03:15 PM   #6
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

yh ive been thinking about getting a second monitor. But not really good preperation for the industry no?

Coz you'll good at what you do,..granted but surely wont you come to depend on it, then when you get a job in 3d chances are you wont be lucky enough to have one in your first job.However, not a big deal if you have to go from 2 monitors to one monitor. lol

Nevertheless a second monitor would be awesome and would anser ALL my problems yes.

Thanks DANGO77
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2009, 03:33 PM   #7
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

I see your point, but I think alike to studying form, proportion etc in school, you don't take that knowledge you learn in a physical form to your place of work, it is stored in your head for future use.

So having a second monitor for research and reference is only an aid to your learning, and I'm pretty sure if you said to your future employer "I'm bringing in a second monitor to improve my workflow, is that ok?", that it would not be met with a negative response! lol!

And with your mind full of the knowledge you've learnt by that point hopefully you wouldn't be bothered by a quick change of window to double check part of a reference pic.

Just an idea anyway, everyone works in a slightly different way, and as long as you stick to the base rules of the area you are studying,and get to the result you are after the path you take is not quite as important.

Best of luck with your journey to that result!
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2009, 03:38 PM   #8
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

wow just downloaded XNeat Windows manager, and yes, it controls anyway window you want to stay on top of any window ou want.

Awesome stuff. Thanx so much guys, You're all very kind
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.