Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-08-2009, 06:06 PM   #1
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Check Render RAM?

Hi Using Maya 8.5 on Precision 690, OS XP Pro x64, 8 gig RAM

I have just switched from XP x32 to XP x64 and added more RAM to my PC but don't think Maya is accessing it for rendering.

I know there is somewhere you can see how much RAM Maya's Mental ray render uses and also you can customize this but I don't know how to locate it.

Anyone?

Thanks, T
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2009, 08:49 AM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

haven't used xp64bit (heard it doesn't play well with maya) but is there a folder program files and program files (x86) that you can install to?
if there is make sure you install to program files

i think you can change the limit of memory you assign to a render in the render options
render > render current frame > []
and
render > batch render > []
in the box titled Memory

is that what you're looking for?
also, when i render i notice the ram doesn't shoot up but the processor speed does, perhaps your renders aren't memory hungry as you expect? *shrug*
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2009, 04:11 PM   #3
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi. Well, I had the same scene on a computer with 4 gigs of RAM (a Mac) and Mental ray accessed it fine and the renders were faster and could handle the full scene without crashing, so I figure RAM must be relevent.

Thanks for the info on therender memeory settings.

I checked those and sure enough Mental ray is only using 1.2 gigs of RAM even though there's 8 available. when I told it to calculate the RAM it didn't go up. Any idea why?

T
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2009, 07:46 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Just an idea, but did you install the 32-bit or 64-bit version of Maya?

I think that's what Chirone was getting at with the program files??
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2009, 10:42 PM   #5
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi. Right, the Maya 64-bit is the one I installed. I should add that since my earlier post, I went in to render cuurent frame options and manually set the memory limit to 6144 (6 gigs RAM) and rendered a dense scene and it worked. Took 69 minutes, but rendered fine.

I still don't know why Maya couldn't calculate the available RAM on it's own, but I am still investigating. At least now it's rendering with the available RAM.

Thanks to both of you.

T
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.