Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-09-2009, 11:45 AM   #1
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya_core installation failed

Hi!

I try to reinstall the Maya 09 Package on my Mac OS X 10.6 and always I try to install the installation program overjumps the maya_core files... what a mess!
Attached Thumbnails
 
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 12:17 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

would 10.6 being 64bit cause an issue? ...if your maya was 32bit?

beats me.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 12:30 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Its got to be 32 bit, theres no 64 bit for Mac so could be something in the OS iteslf, or a corrupt install package.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 12:32 PM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

ha, good point!
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 01:04 PM   #5
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh!
So there is no way to install Maya on OS X 10.6??

can't believe it!
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 01:16 PM   #6
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

It isn't qualified to run on 10.6. Not even 2010 is.

There are some workarounds however: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=775902

One is to install it on leopard, the other is to edit the installer's auto check.

Hopefully one of these works for you. There have been some reported problems however.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 01:27 PM   #7
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Why do I have the bad feeling that Autodesk doesn't like Maya? The support is bad and they throw out new versions on the market without significant changes frequently...
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 09:14 PM   #8
halfloaf
Subscriber
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

By default, 10.6 should be able to run 32 bit and 64 bit apps in the same environment, as the kernel can boot in 32 bit mode and run 64 bit apps if required.

I believe the only exception is when you force 10.6 to boot into 64 bit mode, then you'll have probs with 32 bit apps.

I'm sure Autodesk will come out with a service pack which will allow 10.6 installation.

-J
halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 09:30 PM   #9
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Originally posted by halfloaf
.

I'm sure Autodesk will come out with a service pack which will allow 10.6 installation.

-J
I wouldnt count on it, they really dont like even having a mac version
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2009, 09:05 AM   #10
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

if installing anything on a mac and something goes wrong it's almost always going to be a problem on the OS side

By default, 10.6 should be able to run 32 bit and 64 bit apps in the same environment, as the kernel can boot in 32 bit mode and run 64 bit apps if required.
there's more to it than that. it also depends on what was used to write the program
apple dropped 64bit carbon framework support, in short (and fairly inaccurately) that's the thing that lets people build programs compatible with both windows and apple without having to change lots of code.

so programs like photoshop can't use their 64bit powers unless it's re-written in the other framework. And i imagine the programs have a lot of code (given how big the dmg files are) so it may be a while to re-write
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 06:28 PM   #11
halfloaf
Subscriber
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Just got 10.6 yesterday and updated to 10.6.1. No problems installing Maya 2009, everything seems fine here!

I think the problem is with the installer of Maya 2009. If you use the service pack 1 release from Autodesk it installs without a hitch.

-J

edit: Meh! Seems the OpenGL viewport colours are borked! Scale and move ocon is grey all the time, no RGB for XY & Z.

Last edited by halfloaf : 23-09-2009 at 09:56 PM.
halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2009, 12:00 AM   #12
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

10.6 was never officially tested with any copy of Maya. If you can, I would suggest staying back until Autodesk releases a fix (which I doubt), or a new version comes out....
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 08:19 PM   #13
halfloaf
Subscriber
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default 10.6.2

Well, it seems like all those angry Maya users on the Mac have gotten their way. 10.6.2 fixes the corrupt interface issues on OS X. My Maya 2009 sp1a is back to normal now. Time to get working again...!
halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.