Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-09-2009, 12:21 AM   #1
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default maya on linux?

Alright I've been getting into Ubuntu and I keep reading there are ways to install maya on Linux. I was wondering if anyone here has this setup or not? It seems that you need 64-bit in order for it to work. Unfortunately I only have 32-bit so I can't get Maya to run on Ubuntu.

Just wondering if anyone has Maya up and running on Linux, and if its with linux, vm, or wine. Would I be able to install maya 32 through wine? Sorry if no one has any info on this, just thought I'd ask.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2009, 01:15 AM   #2
septopus
yes...you dont sound not non double negative
 
septopus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

theres a 32bit and 64bit version of maya for linux
since maya 3
__________________
level 3 luchador!

image dump
septopus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2009, 05:08 PM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Check the autodesk site for the actual versions of linux that support it.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2009, 05:31 PM   #4
halfloaf
Subscriber
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: maya on linux?

Yep, installed it on my MacPro running Ubuntu 8 64 bit. I simply downloaded the latest Maya update from the AutoDesk website and used the same license file, as the license is bound to your MAC address.

You can get both 32 bit and 64 bit Maya 2008 packages from Autodesk here.

I think 2009 is 64 bit only...

-Jacques
halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2009, 07:17 PM   #5
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

halfloaf - yeah 2009 is only available in 64 from what I've noticed, unfortunately that's the version I have, I need to get a new computer
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.