Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-01-2003, 10:50 AM   #1
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Mirror select CVs?

Hi,

I've been wondering if there is a way to do something like "mirror selection" on a surface.

Say for example on a face, you select the CVs on one cheek, is there a way you could select EXACTLY the same CVs on the OTHER cheek?

I guess using the side view to select works, but I'm thinking there must be another way?


thanks,
__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2003, 11:23 AM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

If you're just modeling then why don't you work on just the other half and then mirror the whole thing after you're done? Try the search option above and you'll find a lot of other ppl asking the same. Here's one of them: http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...ghlight=mirror
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2003, 11:25 AM   #3
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't want to mirror an object. or one half of it. I just want to know if that mirror selection thing is possible?


thanks,
__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2003, 11:34 AM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Haven't used it much but it is possible at least with the Paint Selection Tool.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2003, 11:38 AM   #5
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep, I tried that one too. but that selects both sides at the same time,right? I want to be able to select one side then toggle to the other not transforming both sides at the same time. So the CVs of only one side are selected at one time. Not sure if this is making sense to you guys.

Sigh! I guess what I want probably can't be done?
__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2003, 11:40 AM   #6
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Ah, now I understand. I don't think that's possible... anyone?
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2003, 11:41 AM   #7
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hehe.

Sorry, I should've given a more details description of my problem in the first post itself.


Keeping my fingers crossed - PLEASE... someone? ANYONE??

__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2003, 08:20 PM   #8
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

AFAIK, this isn't possible. I can't even think of how it would be done (from a technical standpoint). There is no guarantee that the other half of what you selected has the exact same surface topology, so you may not get the right selection.

Also, are you refering to poly shapes or NURBS? This is the poly/subd forum but you're talking about CVs which are NURBS components. Selection options work differently depending on the type of surface you have.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2003, 12:42 AM   #9
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I should have said vertices.

Sorry.
__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2003, 09:56 AM   #10
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

No worries. I just get picky with terminology.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.