Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-10-2009, 05:24 PM   #1
stretchandgrim
Registered User
 
stretchandgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default putting a movie on a tv screen

Dear all,

I want to place a movie on as a texture on a tv screen face. I have savd out a short film as .iff files nembered from 0000 to 00200. I have imported them into the File Attributes.image name box and selected Use Image Sequence which has applied an expression to the Image Number. I can't actually see any film on the screen though. I have turned on hardware texturing and high quality rendering. Any thoughts as to why I can't see it?

Maybe someone would put a step by step as to how to get a film on a tv screen in Maya.

Thanks. Here's hopin.

Stretch.
__________________
vay kind of you.
stretchandgrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 08:22 PM   #2
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

I had a problem with this before. Don`t use *.iff as it did not work for me at all - I got tiff`s and jpegs to work just fine.
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 01:53 PM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I don't know if you have access to compositing software, if so it would be a better idea to track it on in post as the quality will be higher.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 07:47 PM   #4
stretchandgrim
Registered User
 
stretchandgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks guys. Looks like I've had some success with image sequences (jpegs, tga, iff...whatever) as long as the number extension on each frame matches up with the frame number in Maya.
__________________
vay kind of you.
stretchandgrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:08 PM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Last I knew, the image sequence didn't work if the naming convention had underscores like "image_001.tif", try using "image.001.tif".
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carton Love [ Short movie ] ColdWave Work In Progress 19 03-01-2011 09:55 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.