Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-10-2009, 10:28 AM   #1
MisterE
Registered User
 
MisterE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Can't see curve lines....

Hi all, first time post and it's a lame one

I'm following a tutorial on designing a mainly polygonal house and I have used a cv curve to make the outline of the front of the house. I made a basic shape(open square with an open triangle closing this square off if that makes sense). The problem is, when I click cv curve again to add the outlines of windows and doors, the square portion of the object disappears from view and only the roof remains. I snapped to grid with my shape and if I move the object off the gridlines the problem doesn't happen. However, I want it to sit right on the gridlines to help me design the rest of the house. Anyone have any solutions to this?
MisterE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2009, 10:37 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

no solution to it, other than turn off the grid... or maybe add the curves to a layer and make the layer colour pink or something.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2009, 07:41 PM   #3
MisterE
Registered User
 
MisterE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

....ok, but what causes it as the tutorial I'm following doesn't have the problem...?
MisterE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2009, 08:58 PM   #4
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

What exactly do you mean by "square portion of the object"? I don't fully understand what's happening to you yet (sorry). I assume you are trying to make curves based on a reference image you have in your viewport, correct? And in the view port you can see the outline of the house (the curve you made) until you click on the outline?

Trying to figure out if you have a camera placement issue, or maybe camera far clipping issue. Or even image placement issue. Or like what was already mentioned...the curve color being the same color as the grid.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2009, 09:06 PM   #5
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i thought the problem is, that sometimes when you snap a curve to the grid, you cant see the curve if its not selected.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2009, 06:36 AM   #6
MisterE
Registered User
 
MisterE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okok

Just imagine a square with a triangle on top. That is the shape of the front of my house.

The roof is the only thing I can see against the grid due to it not falling on the gridlines. The curve color is not the same as the gridlines. When I try to add more curves for windows and door etc I only see the roof and can not see the rest of the shape....

Hope that makes sense....I'm sure it's something simple, but it's annoying nonetheless.
MisterE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2009, 08:25 AM   #7
MisterE
Registered User
 
MisterE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wait, I worked it out.

When I am in front view and I have my shape in front of me...if I hit 5 to shade the object, I lose seeing the sides and bottom of the house...only the roof is visible....so I left it in wireframe mode and I can see all sides...

..still don't know why it does that...


Last edited by MisterE : 16-10-2009 at 08:31 AM.
MisterE is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.