Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-01-2003, 07:58 AM   #1
DgAPc
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 2D with 3D animation?

I did an 2D animation for last years class and I want to refine it. Since the background really sucks on it, I want to take a 2d animation and put it in maya, so I was wondering. How do you delete the white background on maya (what i got circled), so i can put a 3d background on it.
DgAPc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2003, 08:04 AM   #2
DgAPc
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Heres part of the animation.
DgAPc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2003, 03:15 PM   #3
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I would just work in Maya first. Create the 3D background using a still shot from your 2D anim as reference, then render out each 3D frame with alpha channels(minus your reference image), then composite them in either After Effects for animation or Photoshop for a still. This would be fine for your animation if the background isn't moving....from the little animation clip's camera view, it seems only the character is moving.

As far as getting rid of the white. You'd save your original 2D animation (each image) with alpha channels first. Then in Maya, create a plane and in hypershade, create a material (blinn), and map its color to your image with the alpha. This might help you out a little. I'm not sure how you would do an entire animation, though.

If it were me, I'd bring one image in for reference, then build my background in maya, then render out the background with alpha channel, and composite in your program of choice.

Hope this helped some.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2003, 04:22 PM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Good one Nitro!

That's exactly how I would do that as well.

If your 2d "cells" are separate images, you might be able to get away with a batch process in Photoshop that kills the white bg from your 2d images, and resaves them with a new alpha.
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2003, 10:19 PM   #5
DgAPc
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Talking

Thanks for the advice Nitro. I'll try it out.
DgAPc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where can i post info about 3D job openings? atadami Members Lounge 3 03-12-2010 10:51 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.