Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-12-2009, 07:13 PM   #1
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default Problems with Mirror Geometry tool

Hi. I'm new on this forum and i have a question which i didn't find the answer to using the search tool. So thought i post i here maybe some of you can give me some help.
Here goes:

I made this simpel half skull:


And now i want to mirror using Mirror Geometry but it al goes wrong. I have the merge vertices and merge with the original box thicked.


Anyone have any idear what goes wrong?
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2009, 07:24 PM   #2
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

You're problem from what i can see is A: the verts on the mirror plan of the original geometry arnt all lined up whit the central axis that you are mirroring across.
and B, your pivot point for the mirrored geometry needs to be aligned up with the o coordinate for the axis which you are mirroring across.

That should fix the problem you're asking about
G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2009, 09:10 PM   #3
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by legendofzombi
You're problem from what i can see is A: the verts on the mirror plan of the original geometry arnt all lined up whit the central axis that you are mirroring across.
and B, your pivot point for the mirrored geometry needs to be aligned up with the o coordinate for the axis which you are mirroring across.

That should fix the problem you're asking about
G-man
I have the vertices aligned verticaly along the y-axis. So what you are saying cannot be the problem.

Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2009, 09:53 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Where is your pivot point? You might have to snap that to the central axis as well (hit insert, then hold x and move toward origin, insert to exit again).
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 11:56 AM   #5
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by stwert
Where is your pivot point? You might have to snap that to the central axis as well (hit insert, then hold x and move toward origin, insert to exit again).
Thanks for the tip i didn't know you could do that! But it still doesn't work....
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 05:33 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Is there something funny with your mirror geometry settings? Open the options box and hit edit > reset. Maybe post a screenshot of the mirror geometry options as well as your mesh with pivot point visible.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 05:43 PM   #7
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

also try deleting history
I know the mirror geometry tool doesnt work for some all of the time
sometimes it won't work for me, then after I've made a few (unrelated) changes, it works
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 06:22 PM   #8
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

try using the duplicate tool...
Edit > Duplicate click on the options box.
you'll have rotate, scale and transform boxes in there, three of each, they are equivalent to x,y, and z respectively.

change your transform number in the correct axis for your situation , "What ever it may be" to either 1, or -1 to duplicate strait across the transform node for a perfect miror copy.
You'll use either a negative number, or a positive number depending on which side of the axis you chose to model your base on .

Personally i prefer this method anyway, it just seems to work cleaner , at-least to me... plus you can instance your geometry so that the duplicate automatically updates with the edits to the original.. similar to symmetry option in Zbrush and 3DS. far as i know mirror doesn't have that option. though i might have overlooked it, since i only used it ...2 times i think.

this duplicate function also has a lot of other uses. you want to duplicate something in a circle around the y axis for instance, you can take the number of copies you want to have, divide that by 360, change the rotate setting for he y axis to the number you derived form previously mentioned equation. just as one good use for that other then mirroring geometry.

g-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 07:26 PM   #9
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Stwert
I used the reset option but it didn't work.
Options mirror:
http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9...roroptions.jpg
Pivotpoints:
http://img693.imageshack.us/img693/1729/skullsview.jpg

elephantinc
Where can i find the history?

legendofzombi
I use the duplicate special tool. But i cant seem to get it mirrored just pivot 180 degree.
http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/8...ecialskull.jpg

It would probaly take me less time redesigning the skull from scratch than trying to fix this problem. But i realy want to know what went wrong.
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 07:49 PM   #10
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

edit > delete by type > history
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 08:57 PM   #11
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

For the duplicate special, don't rotate 180 degrees, use scale -1
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2012, 04:41 PM   #12
danielchappelle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 52
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I am having similar problems with Mirror Geometry.

After I mirror there is no mirror geometry in channel box where I can edit the tolerance?

I ran a test with a simple cube and it did offer the mirror geometry option after the fact, in the channel box?

I will try to add screen shot of above.
thanks
Dan
Attached Thumbnails
 
danielchappelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2012, 04:47 PM   #13
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Is your construction history on?
http://simplymaya.com/forum/showpost...12&postcount=6
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2012, 07:48 AM   #14
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

delete history and freeze transform. It should not matter for mirror but put the pivot on the center line. Also, snap all the verts to the center line and this is IMPORTANT make sure when you snap you are in WORLD mode and keep relative spacing is UNCHECKED.

If you still get this behavior (and I have seen this happen) then you have two options save out a copy of the object and then delete the one in the scene and import or duplicate, scale -1, freeze transforms, reverse normals and then zip the verts manually.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2012, 07:50 PM   #15
srlake314
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: toluca lake california
Posts: 109
Thanks: 40
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Yeah I totally have had that happen to me. by moving your center point to one of the verts that are aligned with the center when you hit your mirror geometry you'll get the results you are looking for.

I have had issues with the mirror geometry not always connecting ALL the verts which is weird which is why sometime I just dup the object and then then scale it -1 in either X or whatever transform it is in, in this case I'd say (scale x : -1) but you will have to merge your verts by hand. If all else fails.

Sean
srlake314 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.